Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Eight players are eligible for the supplemental draft


NFL teams looking for a way to fill up a few hours during this lull in the schedule can start breaking down the prospects eligible to be drafted in the Supplemental Draft.

NFL V.P. of Football Communications Michael Signora said that the league informed teams Monday that the draft will be held electronically on July 12. The draft will follow the same procedure as the regular draft with a team forfeiting their pick in the 2013 Draft to select a player in the supplemental process. Terrelle Pryor, selected in the third round by Oakland, was the only player selected in the 2011 Supplemental Draft.

The league has also revealed the eight players who can be taken next Thursday. They are: Boise State defensive back Quaylon Ewing, Baylor wide receiver Josh Gordon, Syracuse running back Adam Harris, Iowa State tackle Adrian Haughton, Carson-Newman linebacker Larry Lumpkin, Georgia defensive end Montez Robinson, McMurray wide receiver Houston Tuminello and TCU running back Ed Wesley.

Gordon and Wesley are the likeliest players from that group to get picked. Gordon left Baylor before the 2011 season after he was suspended for a drug arrest and transferred to Utah, where he would have to sit out the 2011 season under NCAA transfer rules. He decided to go pro instead and the 6'4", 220-pound wideout has drawn some good notices from scouts. Gordon’s former Baylor offensive teammates Robert Griffin III and Kendall Wright both went in the first round in April.

Wesley left TCU for family reasons after an injury-filled junior season. He ran for 1,078 yards and 11 touchdowns in 2010 and some scouts considered him to be a late-round pick even after his less productive 2011 campaign. If Wesley and any of the other players aren’t picked, they are eligible to sign as free agents with any team.