Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Taylor Heinicke loses touchdown by diving head-first into the end zone

Mike Florio and Myles Simmons explain how Congress' interest in obtaining information from the Washington Football Team's email investigation can push the NFL toward releasing the emails to the public.

Before the 2018 season, we noted that a significant rule change wasn’t getting enough attention. That rule change will get plenty of attention today among Washington fans.

The rule change is that a head-first dive is now treated the same way as a feet-first slide, and so a quarterback who dives into the end zone is considered to have given himself up. And that’s exactly what happened to Washington quarterback Taylor Heinicke today.

On a third-and-goal in the third quarter, Heinicke ran toward the goal line and had a clear path to the end zone. He could have run in and scored on his feet, but he might have taken a hit as he crossed the goal line, so he decided to dive into the end zone.

But under the NFL rules, a quarterback who’s diving is treated the same way as a quarterback who’s sliding. Although the officials ruled a touchdown on the field, on replay they correctly changed it to Heinicke giving himself up inside the 1-yard line.

That was an incredibly costly call against Washington, because on the next play, fourth-and-goal, Heinicke tried a quarterback sneak and got stuffed at the line of scrimmage.

It’s a rule a lot of fans don’t know, and a rule Heinicke -- who did a Lambeau Leap, thinking he had scored -- doesn’t seem to know. And that was costly for Washington.