Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

2022 NHL All-Star Skills roundup: Winners, new events, videos

Another 2022 NHL All-Star Skills competition is in the books. After an understated start, Trevor Zegras & Co. really stole the show during the “Breakaway Challenge.”

Along with that elaborate event, there were plenty of surprises, particularly in the fastest skater competition. This post collects the winners, results, and videos for the 2022 NHL All-Star Skills night.

Hardest shot, fastest skater, accuracy shooting winners at 2022 NHL All-Stars event

Let’s go over winners of the returning/more “traditional” events at the 2022 NHL All-Star Skills competition.


Read more about how Jordan Kyrou of the Blues won in 13.55 seconds.

2020 winner: Mathew Barzal, 13.175 seconds


Here are the results of the hardest shot competition, which Victor Hedman won with a slapper at 103.2 mph.

  • Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning, 103.2 mph
  • Adam Pelech, New York Islanders, 102.2 mph
  • Tom Wilson, Washington Capitals, 101.1 mph
  • Timo Meier, San Jose Sharks, 100.1 mph

2020 winner: Shea Weber, 106.5 mph


Ending the 2022 NHL All-Star Skills event, Sebastian Aho won the accuracy shooting competition by hitting all four targets in 10.937 seconds. The event included four passers, including Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson.

Check out the rather wide variety of results from the accuracy shooting event:

  • Sebastian Aho, Carolina Hurricanes - 10.937
  • Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins - 20.947
  • Rasmus Dahlin, Buffalo Sabres - 17.205
  • Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers - 36.543
  • Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames - 17.811
  • Jake Guentzel, Pittsburgh Penguins - 12.017
  • Clayton Keller, Arizona Coyotes - 18.997
  • Troy Terry, Anaheim Ducks - 13.491
  • Jonathan Marchessault, Vegas Golden Knights - 27.782

2020 winner: Aho’s Hurricanes teammate Jaccob Slavin, 9.505


1. Atlantic - Jack Campbell, Toronto Maple Leafs, Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning - 9

2. Pacific - Thatcher Demko, Vancouver Canucks, John Gibson, Anaheim Ducks - 3

2. Central - Cam Talbot, Minnesota Wild, Juuse Saros, Nashville Predators - 3

4. Metropolitan - Fredrick Anderson, Carolina Hurricanes, Tristan Jarry, Pittsburgh Penguins - 2

2020 winner: Jordan Binnington, 10

Werenski wins Fountain Face-off; Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson shines

Judging by Jonathan Huberdeau’s bumpy start, the players took some time to get the feel for the “Fountain Face-off.”

The results started to really ramp up as it went along, though, especially when Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson put on a clinic.

Two skilled defensemen reached the final two: Blue Jackets blueliner Zach Werenski and Roman Josi of the Predators. Werenski ultimately ended up winning at 25.634 seconds.

Hockey blackjack (“21 in 22")

In the other new event, Joe Pavelski won hockey blackjack (aka “21 in 22"), an event that felt like an interesting tweak on the accuracy shooting competition.

Breakaway Challenge

Manon Rhéaume and Wyatt Russell served as goalies in the show-stealing “Breakaway Challenge.” You can read more about Alex Pietrangelo “winning” it, but Trevor Zegras won hearts with an astounding goal that referenced “Dodgeball.” Watch the highlights in the video above this post’s headline, as it’s a true treat.

2016 winner: P.K. Subban

James O’Brien is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @cyclelikesedins.