Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Flyers’ Oskar Lindblom wins Masterton Trophy after battling cancer

Flyers' Oskar Lindblom wins Masterton Trophy after returning from battle with cancer

BOSTON, MA - JANUARY 21: Philadelphia Flyers left wing Oskar Lindblom (23) eyes a face off during a game between the Boston Bruins and the Philadelphia Flyers on January 21, 2021, at TD garden in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Fred Kfoury III/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Philadelphia Flyers forward Oskar Lindblom received the 2021 Bill Masterton Trophy, capping an inspiring return from his battle with Ewing’s sarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer.

Lindblom named 2021 Masterton Trophy winner

The Pro Hockey Writers Associated voted on the Masterton Trophy, awarded to Lindblom for being the player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.”

Matt Dumba (Minnesota Wild) and Patrick Marleau (San Jose Sharks) joined Lindblom as the three Masterton Trophy finalists.

Bobby Ryan won the Masterton Trophy in 2019-20. Ryan introduced Lindblom as the 2021 Masterton Trophy winner on Tuesday:

Here’s a quick rundown of what Lindblom went through between his diagnosis and winning the Masterton, with some help from the NHL.

2021 NHL Award finalists, winners:

King Clancy Memorial Trophy winner: Pekka Rinne; other finalists: Kurtis Gabriel, P.K. Subban
Bill Masterton Trophy winner: Oskar Lindblom; other finalists: Matt Dumba, Patrick Marleau

Vezina Trophy: Marc-Andre Fleury, Philipp Grubauer, Andrei Vasilevskiy
Ted Lindsay Award: Sidney Crosby, Auston Matthews, Connor McDavid
Calder Memorial Trophy: Kirill Kaprizov, Alex Nedeljkovic, Jason Robertson

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Auston Matthews, Jaccob Slavin, Jared Spurgeon
Selke Trophy: Aleksander Barkov, Patrice Bergeron, Mark Stone
Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Renee Hess, Kevin Hodgson, Howard Smith
Norris Trophy: Adam Fox, Victor Hedman, Cale Makar
Hart Trophy: Connor McDavid, Auston Matthews, Nathan MacKinnon

James O’Brien is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @cyclelikesedins.