Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Stars hold on to defeat the Wild after controversial opening goal

Jamie Benn, Devan Dubnyk

Dallas Stars left wing Jamie Benn (14) celebrates his goal against Minnesota Wild goalie Devan Dubnyk (40) during the third period in Game 2 in the first round of the NHL Stanley Cup playoffs Saturday, April 16, 2016, in Dallas. (AP Photo/LM Otero)


Despite a frantic flurry of chances from the Minnesota Wild in the final minute of the third period, the Dallas Stars held on for the 2-1 win on Saturday. They now hold a 2-0 series lead.

Jamie Benn scored the winning goal midway through the third period. But the Wild, unlike in the series opener, were able to make it interesting in the late stages. Marco Scandella moved Minnesota to within a goal less than three minutes after Benn increased the Dallas lead to two. But the Wild just couldn’t get the tying goal in the final minute.

Charlie Coyle had a chance at the side of the net but couldn’t corral the loose puck on his forehand for the shot. Stars’ goalie Kari Lehtonen made a big save off a deflection seconds before that.

But a controversial call on a bizarre goal in the second period had a substantial impact in this game.

Antoine Roussel opened the scoring, after the puck hit off his skate -- was there a kicking motion? -- from behind the net, deflected up and onto the back of goalie Devan Dubnyk and eventually into the net. The net was dislodged on the play, and the original call on the ice was ‘no goal.’

The play was subject to a video review. The call was overturned and, as a result, Dallas took the lead.

Here is a replay of the goal, if you haven’t seen it yet.

Again, here is the explanation from the NHL:

At 3:54 of the second period in the Wild/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Minnesota net. Video review determined that the puck crossed the Minnesota goal line in a legal fashion prior to the net being displaced. According to Rule 78.4 “The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice”. Good goal Dallas.