Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Vesey, Connor, and Demko among the 10 Hobey Baker finalists

2015 Beanpot Tournament - Consolation Game

BOSTON, MA - FEBRUARY 23: Jimmy Vesey #19 of the Harvard Crimson skates against Steve Santini #6 of the Boston College Eagles during the second period of the 2015 Beanpot Tournament consolation game at TD Garden on February 23, 2015 in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The Hobey Baker Award committee has announced the 10 finalists to be named college hockey’s top player for 2016.

They are, in alphabetical order:

-- J.T. Compher, Michigan (Colorado Avalanche)
-- Kyle Connor, Michigan (Winnipeg Jets)
-- Thatcher Demko, Boston College (Vancouver Canucks)
-- Zac Lynch, Robert Morris (undrafted)
-- Alex Lyon, Yale (undrafted)
-- Tyler Motte, Michigan (Chicago Blackhawks)
-- Alex Petan, Michigan Tech (undrafted)
-- Andrew Poturalski, New Hampshire (undrafted, signed by Carolina)
-- Ethan Prow, St. Cloud State (undrafted)
-- Jimmy Vesey, Harvard (Nashville Predators)

The selection committee is now tasked with narrowing the list from 10 to three, a.k.a. the Hobey Hat Trick, to be announced March 31.

The winner will be announced Apr. 8 during the Frozen Four in Tampa.

Last year, Jack Eichel won the award. The year before, it was Johnny Gaudreau.


Preds believe Vesey could ‘come in and play right away’

Demko focused on winning a title with Boston College, will talk with Canucks this summer

Connor wins USHL Player of the Year