Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

U.S., Australia, China, Japan swim teams to face off in January

James Magnussen, Nathan Adrian

Australia’s James Magnussen (l) and US swimmer Nathan Adrian (r) dive as they compete in the final of the men’s 100-metre freestyle swimming event in the FINA World Championships at the indoor stadium of the Oriental Sports Center in Shanghai on July 28, 2011. Magnussen won gold. AFP PHOTO / MARK RALSTON (Photo credit should read MARK RALSTON/AFP/Getty Images)

AFP/Getty Images

The four most successful swimming nations from the 2012 Olympics will convene at the Aquatic Super Series meet in Perth, Australia, from Jan. 30-31.

The U.S., Australia, China and Japan will face off in the meet. The four countries also met (with others) in Gold Coast, Australia, three months ago for the Pan Pacific Championships.

At the 2012 Olympics, the U.S. won 31 swimming medals, followed by Japan (11), Australia and China (10 each).

The U.S. roster for the Aquatic Super Series is unknown. Michael Phelps will still be under suspension, and Missy Franklin and Katie Ledecky are still in school.

The Aquatic Super Series debuted in 2013 as a three-nation meet with Australia, China and South Africa.

In 2014, it included Australia, Brazil, China, Japan and South Africa. A majority of the nations’ top stars swam, such as James Magnussen, Cate Campbell, Ye Shiwen, Kosuke Hagino and Chad le Clos.

Conor Dwyer focused on Doha after losing Michael Phelps, Yannick Agnel

Follow @nzaccardi