Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Your MLS Re-Entry Draft Primer

MLS logo

Stage 1 of the MLS Re-Entry draft takes place today at 3 p.m. Eastern, but for as much as we’ve been talking about the process, it occurs to me we haven’t really stopped to talk about not only what the draft is. Or why it is.

Before we get to the order and player lists, here are some quick bullet points. And as always, if you want to know more, this is a decent starting point:

  • The first Re-Entry Draft was in 2010, instituted as a compromise between players’ desire for free agency and owners’ unwillingness to provide it.
  • First stage is today; next stage is next Friday.
  • If a player’s out of contract (expired, option not picked up) and meets some age/service requirements (23+ years old/3+ years of service; 25+/4; 30+; 8) he’s eligible.
  • It’s essentially a waiver draft. Teams pick is reverse order of finish from the previous MLS season.
  • Out of contract players selected in Stage 1 must have a Bone Fide Offer made to them in seven days. Even if the player doesn’t take it, that allows the selecting team to hold the player’s rights.
  • If the player had an option, the new team picks up that option (and gets the player).
  • The week between rounds gives sides time to negotiate a deal. Within that time, there’s an opportunity for teams to re-sign their own players.
  • Players not on teams by next Friday go into stage 2. In the second round of stage 2 teams can pick their own players.
  • Anybody not picked in stages 1 and 2 is a free agent. Anybody select has their first refuse rights tied to a club.

The order of selection:

1. Toronto FC
2. Chivas USA
3. Portland Timbers
4. New England Revolution
5. Philadelphia Union
6. Colorado Rapids
7. FC Dallas
8. Montreal Impact
9. Columbus Crew
10. Vancouver Whitecaps FC
11. Chicago Fire
12. Real Salt Lake
13. New York Red Bulls
14. Sporting Kansas City
15. San Jose Earthquakes
16. Seattle Sounders FC
17. D.C. United
18. Houston Dynamo
19. LA Galaxy

And the players that are eligible:

CHVÁngel, Juan Pablo
CHVVagenas, Peter
COLMarshall, Tyrone
COLPalguta, Scott
DALGuarda, Bruno
DALHartman, Kevin
DALDe Guzman, Julian
HOUClark, Colin
SJAlexandre, Jean
SJWard, Tim
TORAvila, Eric

CHINolly, Jay
CHIBone, Corben
CHVCaliff, Danny
CHVMoreno, Alejandro
CLBHesmer, Will
CLBJames, Julius
COLCasey, Conor
COLFreeman, Hunter
COLSmith, Jamie
COLJoyce, Ian
COLNane, Joseph
COLWahl, Tyson
DCChabala, Michael
DCDos Santos, Maicon
DALSealy, Scott
KCAiyegbusi, Olukorede
KCSassano, Luke
LABarrett, Chad
LABoyens, Andrew
LAJordan, Bryan
LANoonan, Pat
MTLThomas, Shavar
NEMurray Tim
NEGavin, Blair
NYGaudette, Bill
NYKeel, Stephen
PHIHarrison, Chase
PORPalmer, Lovel
RSLAraujo, Paulo Jr.
RSLReynish, Kyle
SEAWeber, Andrew
SEASeamon, Mike
SJCorrales, Ramiro
SJGjertsen, Joseph
SJOpara, Ike
SJStephenson, Khari
TORCann, Adrian
TORHall, Jeremy
TORHarden, Ty
TORWiedeman, Andrew
VANThorrington, John