Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

2015 Copa America awards: Vargas, Guerrero beat Aguero, Vidal to top scorer

Eduardo Vargas

Eduardo Vargas, Chile — 2015 Copa America semifinal


Eduardo Vargas

Eduardo Vargas, Chile — 2015 Copa America semifinal


The 2015 Copa America is in the books — Chile are South American champions for the first time in 99 years — and needless to say, it was a tournament to remember.

[ MORE: All of PST’s Copa America coverage ]

Especially for the following stars who picked up post-tournament honors for standout performances:

Top goalscorer: Eduardo Vargas (Chile) and Paolo Guerrero (Peru) — 4 goals scored

Eduardo Vargas scored the goal of the tournament — his second of two against Peru in the semifinals — to go along with another two in the group stage (vs. Ecuador and Mexico).

Paolo Guerrero did most of his damage in a quarterfinal victory over Bolivia (hat trick) before bagging once more as Chile bowed out to the eventual winners in the semis.


Paolo Guerrero, Peru

AFP/Getty Images

Best Young Player: Jeison Murillo (Colombia)

23-year-old Jeison Murillo, who will complete his move to Inter Milan ahead of the 2015-16 season, scored just once this tournament — Colombia’s only goal in four games, the game-winner against Brazil in group game no. 2.


Jeison Murillo, Colombia

AFP/Getty Images

Golden Gloves: Claudio Bravo (Chile) — 4 goals conceded

Having conceded just once since the group stage (three goals allowed in a 3-3 draw with Mexico in group game no. 2) while making a pair of stops in the tournament-deciding penalty shootout against Argentina, Claudio Bravo was a no-brainer to take home the award for best goalkeeper.

Chile v Argentina - 2015 Copa America Chile Final

Claudio Bravo, Chile

LatinContent/Getty Images

Follow @AndyEdMLS