Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Chicharito, Vela, Long, Morris to lead MLS All-Stars vs Liga MX

NEW YORK -- U.S. national team regulars Paul Arriola, Jesus Ferreira, Aaron Long, Jordan Morris, DeAndre Yedlin, and Walker Zimmerman were among 26 players picked Tuesday for Major League Soccer’s All-Star Game.

Mexico’s Javier Hernandez and Carlos Vela, and Canada’s Kamal Miller also were selected for the team, which will face Mexican league All-Stars on Aug. 10 in St. Paul, Minnesota.

[ MORE: Man United beat Liverpool 4-0 in friendly ]

Defending champion New York City and league-leading Los Angeles have three players each on the MLS team.

Twelve players were selected in fan, player and media voting, while another 12 were chosen by All-Star coach Adrian Heath of Minnesota United. MLS Commissioner Don Garber got to name two others: New York City goalkeeper Sean Johnson and Montreal defender Kamal Miller.

The full roster is:


Andre Blake, Philadelphia; Sean Johnson, New York City; Dayne St. Clair, Minnesota


Julian Araujo, LA Galaxy; Alexander Callens, New York City; Aaron Long, New York Red Bulls; Kamal Miller, Montreal; Diego Palacios, Los Angeles; Kai Wagner, Philadelphia; DeAndre Yedlin, Miami; Walker Zimmerman, Nashville


Luciano Acosta, Cincinnati; Sebastian Driussi, Austin; Carles Gil, New England; Hany Mukhtar, Nashville; Darlington Nagbe, Columbus; Emanuel Reynoso, Minnesota; Ilie Sanchez, Los Angeles


Paul Arriola, Dallas; Valentin Castellanos, New York City; Jesus Ferreira, Dallas; Taxiarchis Fountas, D.C.; Javier Hernandez, LA Galaxy; Jordan Morris, Seattle; Raul Ruidiaz, Seattle; Carlos Vela, Los Angeles