Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Hope Solo will not be winning the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year

2012 Do Something Awards - Show

SANTA MONICA, CA - AUGUST 19: Olympic soccer player Hope Solo accepts award onstage during the 2012 Do Something Awards at Barker Hangar on August 19, 2012 in Santa Monica, California. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for VH1)

Getty Images for VH1

Hope Solo is -- by far -- the best goalkeeper in the world. Unfortunately, not everyone seems to think that way.

The United States netminder did not make FIFA’s shortlist for Women’s World Player of the Year.

The 10-women list is filled with deserving names including four Americans: Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd, and Megan Rapinoe. One of the quartet will look to take home the trophy for the first time since Mia Hamm in 2002. That’s astonishing.

Marta, Canada’s Christine Sinclair, and Homare Sawa are three of the other big names to make the final cut.

Camille Abily from France and Japan’s Aya Miyama round out the group.

Solo was probably the biggest slight, especially considering Japan’s goalie Miho Fukumoto received a nod. Perhaps the American’s prickly personality and outspoken nature cost her with the voters. At least she got that cool shoe shown above.

The shortlist will be cut to three at an announcement in São Paulo on November 29, with the winners revealed at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala on January 7.