Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Manchester City 2-0 West Ham United: City win Premier League title

Britain Soccer Premier League

City deliver second PL title in three years after a comfortable win.



Manchester City were crowned Premier League champions on Sunday, as they beat West Ham 2-0 at the Etihad Stadium.

Throughout the PL campaign City have led the way for just 14 days of the season, yet when it mattered most the Citizens finished top of the pile to lift the PL trophy.

Samir Nasri opened the scoring just five minutes before the break as the Frenchman worked some space on the edge of the box and smashed a low effort in to ease the tension around the Etihad. Just after half time the win was sealed as captain Vincent Kompany hammered home from close range and City’s fans enjoyed the rest of the match.

MORE: Final Premier League standings

City clinched their second PL title in three seasons in comfortable fashion as West Ham hardly tested the Citizens. Manuel Pellegrini has delivered the PL title in his first season in charge of City, as the Blue half of Manchester will party way into the night.

At the final whistle City’s players sunk to their knees in celebration, as fans flooded the pitch, after winning five of their last six games to put them top of the standings on 86 points after scoring 102 goals in their 38 PL games this season. Over the course of the season, City showed they were the PL’s best.

VIDEO: Manchester City’s players react to winning Premier League title

Tension was in the air at the Etihad early on as City tried to get an early goal to ease the nerves. In the 10th minute Pablo Zabaleta raced down the right wing after a neat one-two and clipped the ball to the back post to find an unmarked David Silva but the Spaniard blasted the ball way over the bar as Pellegrini had a wry smile on his face.

Britain Soccer Premier League

City deliver second PL title in three years after a comfortable win.


West Ham continued to frustrate City as the first half played out with Yaya Toure curling an effort just passed the far post as the Hammers set up two banks of four on the edge of their own box. Midway through the half Aleksandar Kolarov rifled an effort towards the top corner but Adrian saved superbly as City continued to press.

MORE: Man City are the 2013-14 Premier League champions

It was all City as West Ham struggled to get out of their own half and just before half time they finally took the lead. Nasri got the ball 25-yards out, jinxed inside and smashed a low effort towards the bottom corner that Adrian got a hand to but couldn’t keep out. Soon after Aguero was played in down the right and knocked the ball across to Pablo Zabaleta went in 1-0 up at the break as they were just 45 minutes from winning the title.

VIDEO: City celebrate title, as fans swarm the pitch

Within three minutes of the restart City doubled their lead as a corner caused havoc in the box and Kompany hammered home from close range. That goal sparked jubilant scenes from the home fans as ‘the Poznan’ was performed in unison as party. West Ham showed no attacking intent as City pushed forward in search of a third goal. City were trying all kinds of outrageous tricks and flicks in the party atmosphere as Toure scooped the ball to Nasri who smashed goalwards but Adrian saved.

City continued to push for a third but they stroked the ball around with ease to see out the win as the party at the Etihad was in full swing way before the final whistle had blown.


Manchester City: Hart, Zabaleta, Kompany, Demichelis, Kolarov, Garcia, Toure (Negredo, 86'), Nasri, Silva (Milner, 76'), Aguero, Dzeko (Fernandinho, 69')

Goals: Nasri (39'), Kompany (49')

West Ham United: Adrian, Reid, McCartney, Nolan (Jarvis, 64'), Tomkins, Carroll (C. Cole, 72'), Taylor, Noble, O’Brien, Diame (J. Cole, 81'), Downing

Follow @JPW_NBCSports