Skip navigation
Favorites
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Maguire on Batshuayi incident: ‘No intent to hurt him or kick him’

Harry Maguire

LONDON, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 17: VAR rules out a red card for Harry Maguire of Manchester United after he catches Michy Batshuayi of Chelsea during the Premier League match between Chelsea FC and Manchester United at Stamford Bridge on February 17, 2020 in London, United Kingdom. (Photo by Robin Jones/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Manchester United center back Harry Maguire says he was just trying to help Michy Batshuayi from falling when he kicked the forward in the groin.

Maguire wasn’t disciplined for the incident by Video Assistant Referee, and later scored United’s second goal in a 2-0 win over Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

[ MORE: JPW’s 3 Things from London ]

The Red Devils’ admitted he thought he could get sent off, because he had studs on his boots and it looked bad.

But really, he was just trying to keep ol’ Michy upright (view video of the incident here).

“I can see why. I knew I caught him but I felt like he was gonna fall on me. My natural reaction was to straighten my leg to try and hold him up. I’ve got some studs on my boots and it probably looks worse than it was on TV. It wasn’t a kick out. I knew at the time, but I think it’s the right decision.

[ MORE: Premier League schedule ]

He was asked whether he was nervous during the review.

“I knew at the time I didn’t have no intent to hurt him or kick him. It wasn’t a kick. I apologized to him, but it was nice that the referee seen it.”

We’ll let the quotes speak for themselves. Supplemental discipline seems likely considering Heung-min Son’s red card was not overturned after the fact.