Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

PFA Team of the Year announced: 6 Blues lead the way


A whopping six Chelsea players have been selected as part of the PFA Team of the Year, representing their likely title run in somewhat dominating fashion, but also leaving out a host of other Premier League stars.

All three main outfield positions featured at least one Chelsea player, meaning just five other clubs made an appearance. Among the others include Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez, leaving no room for his teammate Santi Cazorla. 30-goal man Harry Kane is deservedly next to Diego Costa up front, trailing Sergio Aguero by just one goal in the Premier League scoring table.

The defense features a whopping three Blues, as both central defenders John Terry and Gary Cahill appear alongside right-back Branislav Ivanovic. Only Nathaniel Clyne of Southampton breaks the Chelsea blue at the back, a player heavily rumored to leave St. Mary’s at the end of the season. There was no room for Clyne’s teammate Jose Fonte, however, pushed out by the Terry-Cahill partnership despite a highly rated season.

At the back is Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea, far and away the best shot stopper this season in the English top flight at just 24 years old, beating out his 22-year-old counterpart at Stamford Bridge in Thibaut Courtois.


GK: David de Gea (Manchester United)

DEF: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), John Terry (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea)

MID: Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Nemanja Matic (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)

ST: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Diego Costa (Chelsea)

Follow @the_bonnfire