Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Wisconsin’s Frank Kaminsky wins Oscar Robertson, AP Player of the Year awards

Frank Kaminsky

Frank Kaminsky


Wisconsin senior forward Frank Kaminsky picked up a major award Friday morning, as he was named winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy by the United States Basketball Writers Association. The award is given to the winner of the association’s national Player of the Year vote, and Kaminsky was also named Player of the Year by the Associated Press.

The 6-foot-11 Kaminsky, who was named Big Ten Player of the Year last month, has helped lead the Badgers to their second consecutive Final Four appearance and the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles. Kaminksy leads the Badgers in a number of categories, including scoring (18.7 ppg), rebounding (8.0 rpg), assists, field goal and three-point percentage.

“This is obviously a great award and I am honored to receive it,” Kaminsky said. “I have to thank my family, who have really helped me grow as a person and grow as a basketball player. I’m just so honored to receive this award.”

Also at the ceremony in Indianapolis were the trophy’s namesake, Wisconsin head coach Bo Ryan and all of Frank’s teammates. Nigel Hayes and Sam Dekker also managed to get involved in the question and answer session after Kaminsky was given the trophy.

First question for Frank Kaminsky at the Oscar Robertson Trophy ceremony comes from @NIGEL_HAYES of the “Badger Beat”

— Wisconsin Basketball (@BadgerMBB) April 3, 2015