Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Four Americans headed to Tokyo as Olympic qualifying wraps after U.S. Open

Update: Bryson DeChambeau tested positive for COVID-19 and was replaced Saturday by Patrick Reed. A day later, Spain’s Jon Rahm withdrew for a positive test of his own and was replaced by Jorge Campillo.

The men’s Olympic teams were set following the U.S. Open, with Justin Thomas, Collin Morikawa, Xander Schauffele and Bryson DeChambeau qualifying for the U.S. team.

This will mark four different American players than the ones who competed in the 2016 Games.

“I’m so excited. Obviously, it’s a little consolation to not winning here this week, but I’m going to go and play,” Morikawa said on Sunday. “It’s going to be one of the best things of my life. To think back that I was an amateur two years ago, literally two years ago, and to be on this team and to be heading to Tokyo puts a smile on my face. I’m really excited.”

A country was allowed up to four representatives if all were inside the top 15 in the standings. Outside of that, countries were allowed a maximum of two players to fil the field of 60.

The men’s competition will be contested July 29 – Aug. 1 at Kasumigaseki Country Club in Japan. There will be three new medalists as the 2016 trio (Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson, Matt Kuchar) failed to qualify this time around.

One of the new players in the field will be Italy’s Guido Migliozzi, who tied for fourth at the U.S. Open.

“I grew up watching the Olympics on TV. To be able to play in an Olympics Games is a dream come true,” he said. “It will be another monster week. A lot of feelings, a lot of vibes, can’t wait.”

Here is a look at the 60-player field (Editor’s note: Updated after field finalized on July 6):

  • 1. Jon Rahm (Spain) (WD; replaced by Jorge Campillo)

  • 2. Justin Thomas (United States)

  • 3. Collin Morikawa (United States)

  • 4. Xander Schauffele (United States)

  • 5. Bryson DeChambeau (United States) (WD; replaced by Patrick Reed)

  • 6. Rory McIlroy (Ireland)

  • 7. Viktor Hovland (Norway)

  • 8. Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)

  • 9. Paul Casey (Great Britain)

  • 10. Abraham Ancer (Mexico)

  • 11. Sungjae Im (South Korea)

  • 12. Cameron Smith (Australia)

  • 13. Joaquin Niemann (Chile)

  • 14. Tommy Fleetwood (Great Britain)

  • 15. Corey Conners (Canada)

  • 16. Garrick Higgo (South Africa)

  • 17. Shane Lowry (Ireland)

  • 18. Marc Leishman (Australia)

  • 19. Christiaan Bezuidenhout (South Africa)

  • 20. Si Woo Kim (South Korea)

  • 21. Carlos Ortiz (Mexico)

  • 22. Mackenzie Hughes (Canada)

  • 23. Sebastian Munoz (Columbia)

  • 24. Guido Migliozzi (Italy)

  • 25. Rikuya Hoshino (Japan)

  • 26. Antoine Rozner (France)

  • 27. Thomas Detry (Belgium)

  • 28. Alex Noren (Sweden)

  • 29. Thomas Pieters (Belgium)

  • 30. Kalle Samooja (Finland)

  • 31. Matthias Schwab (Austria)

  • 32. Rasmus Hojgaard (Denmark)

  • 33. Sami Valimaki (Finland)

  • 34. Jazz Janewattananond (Thailand)

  • 35. Jhonattan Vegas (Venezuela)

  • 36. Francesco Molinari (Italy)

  • 37. Henrik Norlander (Sweden)

  • 38. Mito Pereira (Chile)

  • 39. Adri Arnaus (Spain)

  • 40. Joachim B Hansen (Denmark)

  • 41. Rory Sabbatini (Slovakia)

  • 42. Sepp Straka (Austria)

  • 43. Ryan Fox (New Zealand)

  • 44. C.T. Pan (Chinese Taipei)

  • 45. Romain Langasque (France)

  • 46. Adrian Meronk (Poland)

  • 47. Maximilian Kieffer (Germany)

  • 48. Juvic Pagunsan (Phillipines)

  • 49. Ondrej Lieser (Czech Republic)

  • 50. Scott Vincent (Zimbabwe)

  • 51. Gunn Charoenkul (Thailand)

  • 52. Hurly Long (Germany)

  • 53. Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay)

  • 54. Rafael Campos (Puerto Rico)

  • 55. Gavin Kyle Green (Malaysia)

  • 56. Yechun Yuan (China)

  • 57. Kristian K Johannessen (Norway)

  • 58. Ashun Wu (China)

  • 59. Anirban Lahiri (India)

  • 60. Udayan Mane (India)