Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar results and points standings after Mid-Ohio Race No. 2 Sunday

Colton Herta wins Sunday's IndyCar Series race at Mid-Ohio from pole position, as Andretti Autosport sweeps the podium.

Leading Andretti Autosport’s best results day in 15 years, Colton Herta scored his first victory of the season at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course as the points race tightened in the NTT IndyCar Series.

Andretti teammates Herta, Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay capped the first podium sweep for Andretti since a 1-2-3-4 finish April 3, 2005 at St. Petersburg, Florida.

Herta led 57 of 75 laps and won after starting from the pole position, a day after Will Power had done the same on the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course.

It was a remarkable turnaround for the team, which had only two podium finishes in the previous 10 races (both third places by Rossi) this season.

Scott Dixon finished 10th for the second consecutive race at Mid-Ohio, shrinking his championship lead by 24 points over Josef Newgarden with three races remaining in the season (an Oct. 2-3 race weekend doubleheader at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and the Oct. 25 season finale at St. Petersburg, Florida).

Here are the IndyCar Mid-Ohio results and points standings from Sunday:


--Click here for the box score from Sunday’s Race No. 2 at Mid-Ohio

--Click here for the lap leader summary from Sunday’s race


After 11 of a scheduled 14 races, Dixon has a 72-point lead (456-384) over Josef Newgarden (who trailed by 96 points entering the Mid-Ohio doubleheader race weekend).

The rest of the top 10: Pato O’Ward 338, Colton Herta 327, Will Power 306, Graham Rahal 301, Takuma Sato 300, Simon Pagenaud 277, Ryan Hunter-Reay 260, Santino Ferrucci 249.

Click here for the driver points chart from Sunday’s race at Mid-Ohio.

Here’s what the full points standings are through 11 races for:



Engine manufacturers

NEXT: The series will head to an Oct. 2-3 doubleheader race weekend at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course before concluding the season Oct. 25 at St. Petersburg, Florida.