Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar Genesys 300 starting lineup at Texas

IndyCar Texas Saturday starting lineup

Leeds, AL - APRIL 18: NTT IndyCar series driver Alex Palou does an interview in victory lane after winning the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama on April 18, 2021 at Barber Motorsports Park in Leeds, Alabama. (Photo by Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)

Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

NTT IndyCar Series qualifying Saturday at Texas Motor Speedway was scrubbed for track drying, setting the starting lineup for the Genesys 300 by entrant points through two races.

The 1.5-mile speedway near Fort Worth, Texas, wasn’t dry until about 2:30 p.m. ET, nearly two hours after the originally scheduled time, so IndyCar elected to cancel a 4 p.m. qualifying session. The race will begin at 7 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Points leader Alex Palou, who won the season opener at Barber Motorsports Park, will start on the pole position Saturday night for Chip Ganassi Racing in the No. 10 Dallara-Honda, followed by Will Power in Team Penske’s No. 12 Chevrolet.

STARTING LINEUP: How they will line up Saturday night

Scott Dixon, Grand Prix of St. Petersburg winner Colton Herta, Simon Pagenaud, Jack Harvey, Sebastien Bourdais, Rinus VeeKay, Marcus Ericsson and Josef Newgarden will comprise the rest of the top 10 starting spots.

TEXAS DOUBLEHEADER: A primer for watching IndyCar at Texas Motor Speedway this weekend

ENTRY LISTS, WEEKEND SCHEDULES: Who will be racing and when at Texas

Pato O’Ward, the pole-sitter at Barber, will start 11th. In their season debuts, Tony Kanaan (in place of Jimmie Johnson in Ganassi’s No. 48) will start 23rd, and Pietro Fittipaldi (substituting for Romain Grosjean in the No. 51) will be 14th.

Ed Carpenter will be making his first start this season from 17th in the No. 20 Chevrolet. That car was driven in the first two races by Conor Daly, who will be starting last Saturday in the No. 59 Chevy for Carlin.

Saturday’s 212-lap race will be followed by a 248-lap race Sunday (5 p.m. ET, NBCSN).

Here’s the IndyCar starting lineup Saturday in the Genesys 300 at Texas Motor Speedway (Position, car number, driver, manufacturer):


1. (10) Alex Palou, Honda
2. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet


3. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda
4. (26) Colton Herta, Honda


5. (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet
6. (60) Jack Harvey, Honda


7. (14) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet
8. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet


9. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda
10. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet


11. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet
12. (30) Takuma Sato, Honda


13. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda
14. (51) Pietro Fittipaldi, Honda


15. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet
16. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda


17. (20) Ed Carpenter, Chevrolet
18. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet

ROW 10

19. (18) Ed Jones, Honda
20. (29) James Hinchcliffe, Honda

ROW 11

21. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda
22. (4) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet

ROW 12

23. (48) Tony Kanaan, Honda
24. (59) Conor Daly, Chevrolet