Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Austin Dillon holds off brother Ty to win Modified race

Austin Dillon 2015 getty

Try as he may, little brother couldn’t quite catch big brother.

That’s how things played out in Monday night’s 44th annual DIRTcar Nationals as Austin Dillon held off younger sibling Ty in the closing laps to win the UMP Modifieds main event at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla.

According to, Austin Dillon started ninth in the 29-car, 30-lap A-Main race, eventually moving past frontrunner Nick Hoffman to take the lead.

Having started seventh, Ty Dillon essentially followed in his older brother’s tire tracks, eventually overtaking Hoffman to take second position.

A late caution set up a two-lap sprint to the finish, with Austin holding off Ty to take the win.

“It’s awesome for Team Dillon Racing to go 1-2,” Austin Dillon said. “I’ve been coming down here for quite a few years now and to finally win a big Gator (trophy) feels awesome.

“This is a special place. Coming from ninth, man I have my head on straight. When the opportunities were there I took them. The bottom (groove) just kept coming to me. I like it down there.”


Other drivers of note that competed in the event (and where they finished) include: Kenny Wallace (5th), Ken Schrader (8th), Justin Allgaier (14th) and defending NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champ Matt Crafton (23rd).


DIRTcar UMP Modified A-Main (30 Laps) - 1. 3-Austin Dillon [9] ($5,000); 2. 41-Ty Dillon [7]; 3. 2-Nick Hoffman [3]; 4. 1G-Devin Gilpin [1]; 5. 36-Kenny Wallace [12]; 6. 40B-Kyle Bronson [10]; 7. 13-Jake Hawkins [15]; 8. 9-Ken Schrader [2]; 9. 64JR-Billy Workman Jr. [6]; 10. 8-Kyle Strickler [5]; 11. 1X-Cody Erickson [20]; 12. 35-Jason Beaulieu [4]; 13. 51G-Brandon Green [17]; 14. 51-Justin Allgaier [22]; 15. 28-Paul Miles [23]; 16. K9-Will Krup [27]; 17. 7-Evan Taylor [11]; 18. BD4-Jackie Boggs [24]; 19. 77-Ray Bollinger [21]; 20. 54B-Larry Burkins [29]; 21. 96-Cory Daugherty [25]; 22. 67-Garret Stewart [13]; 23. 88-Matt Crafton [14]; 24. 11R-Josh Rice [8]; 25. 22T-Tony Anderson [28]; 26. 25-Tyler Nicely [16]; 27. 9M-Dale Mathison [18]; 28. 16C-Josh Harris [19]; 29. 01-Todd Sherman [26].

Follow @JerryBonkowski