Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Denny Hamlin wins pole at Talladega

Dustin Long, Kyle Petty, and Steve Letarte each select three NASCAR Cup Series drivers to watch at Talladega Superspeedway.

TALLADEGA, Ala. -- Denny Hamlin earned his first career superspeedway pole and will lead the Cup field to the green flag Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway.

Hamlin won the pole with a lap of 180.751 mph. He’ll be joined on the front row by Aric Almirola (180.642 mph).

MORE: Talladega Cup starting lineup

Hamlin’s Joe Gibbs Racing teammate, Ty Gibbs, qualified third after a lap of 180.594 mph. Chase Briscoe (180.390) will start fourth. Ryan Blaney (180.258) completes the top five.

Kyle Larson, coming off his Martinsville win last weekend, will start ninth after a lap of 179.656 mph. Chase Elliott, who won Talladega’s playoff race last fall, qualified 29th after a lap of 177.748 mph. Daytona 500 winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (177.205) qualified 33rd.