Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Report: Danica Patrick to have new crew chief in 2016

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Sylvania 300 - Practice

LOUDON, NH - SEPTEMBER 25: Billy Scott, crew chief for Clint Bowyer, not pictured, driver of the #15 5-Hour Energy Toyota, looks on during practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Sylvania 300 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on September 25, 2015 in Loudon, New Hampshire. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Danica Patrick will enter her fourth Sprint Cup season with a new crew chief, according to a report by

The reports says Patrick, who has worked with Tony Gibson and Daniel Knost over the last three years, will have Billy Scott as crew chief in 2016.

Scott has been with Michael Waltrip Racing since 2008 and would be making the move to Stewart-Haas Racing with MWR’s closure.

In 2014, Scott was the crew chief for Brian Vickers on the No. 55 and in 2015 worked with Vickers, David Ragan and Clint Bowyer in 18 races.

Through three full-time seasons in the Sprint Cup Series, Patrick has six top-10 finishes and one pole.

Gibson was crew chief for Patrick for two races in 2012 and then from the beginning of 2013 until Knost, the crew chief for Kurt Busch, swapped positions with him for the final three races of 2014.

Follow @DanielMcFadin