Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Lou Williams, Eric Gordon, Fred VanVleet finalists for Sixth Man of the Year

Phoenix Suns v Los Angeles Clippers

LOS ANGELES, CA - DECEMBER 20: Lou Williams #23 of the LA Clippers laughs during the first half against the Phoenix Suns at Staples Center on December 20, 2017 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Sometimes, the most productive overall reserve wins Sixth Man of the Year. Usually, though, the award goes to the highest-scoring reserve.

When both those players are the same, it’s easy.

Lou Williams – who averaged 22.6 points per game, third-most ever for a Sixth Man of the Year-eligible player* – is deserves to and will likely win the honor when it’s presented June 25. For now, we just know the finalists:

  • Lou Williams (Clippers)
  • Eric Gordon (Rockets)
  • Fred VanVleet (Raptors)

*Ricky Pierce averaged 23.0 points per game for the 1989-90 Bucks. Michael Jordan averaged 22.7 points per game for the 1985-86 Bulls, though he played just 18 games, including seven starts.

Williams (2015) and Gordon (2017) have both previously won this award.

Gordon had a nice season, but he fits the high-scoring model that attracts voters more than he fits the best overall reserve.

VanVleet was a key piece of a deep and dominant Toronto bench.