Dustin Brown will not be suspended for his hit on Antti Miettinen
Kings fans can breathe a little easier today. Last night Kings captain Dustin Brown was given a five-minute major and a game misconduct for a head shot on Wild forward Antti Miettinen. With the NHL’s new rule regarding reckless and blindside blows to the head, Brown’s seemingly tough hit on Miettinen could’ve been cited for discipline by the league.
As it turns out, the league won’t be seeking additional punishment according to Helene Elliott of the Los Angeles Times.
No supplementary discipline for Kings’ Dustin Brown after hit on Mietinnen...right call. Five and game were enough
As it turns out, this is the right call by the NHL. Replays showed that Brown didn’t make contact with Miettinen’s head and while Miettinen was in a vulnerable position, he wasn’t hit in the head. The call was OK considering how fast the game moves and how it appeared on first glance, it’s just good to see the NHL not overreacting,