Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NHL announces 2022 All-Star Skills participants

nhl all-star skills

LOS ANGELES, CA - JANUARY 28: Connor McDavid #97 of the Edmonton Oilers competes in the DraftKings NHL Accuracy Shooting event during the 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition as part of the 2017 NHL All-Star Weekend at STAPLES Center on January 28, 2017 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The NHL’s All-Star Skills event takes place on Friday night from T-Mobile Arena on Las Vegas and begins at 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN. On Thursday, the league announced what players will participate in each of the events.

Each individual event winner will take home $30,000.

Below is the official lineup from the NHL for each skills challenge.

FASTEST SKATER Chris Kreider, Rangers Adrian Kempe, Kings Kyle Connor, Jets Evgeny Kuznetsov, Capitals Jordan Kyrou, Blues Dylan Larkin, Red Wings Cale Makar, Avalanche Connor McDavid, Oilers

2020 winner: Mathew Barzal, 13.175 seconds

NHL SAVE STREAK Jack Campbell, Maple Leafs Andrei Vasilevskiy, Lightning Frederik Andersen, Hurricanes Tristan Jarry, Penguins Cam Talbot, Wild Juuse Saros, Predators Thatcher Demko, Canucks John Gibson, Ducks

2020 winner: Jordan Binnington, 10

nhl all-star skills 2022

NHL FOUNTAIN FACE-OFF (new event) Jonathan Huberdeau, Panthers Claude Giroux, Flyers Jordan Eberle, Kraken Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson Roman Josi, Predators Nick Suzuki, Canadiens Zach Werenski, Blue Jackets Mark Stone, Golden Knights

From the NHL:

Competition takes place on the iconic Bellagio Fountains. Players will travel by boat to the “rink” and are required to successfully shoot pucks into five targets in the least amount of time. Qualifying players move to the head-to-head final. Fountain spray and the breeze off The Strip will add to the challenge of this unprecedented NHL All-Star Skills event.

NHL HARDEST SHOT Adam Pelech, Islanders Timo Meier, Sharks Victor Hedman, Lightning Tom Wilson, Capitals

2020 winner: Shea Weber, 106.5 mph

NHL BREAKAWAY CHALLENGE Goalies: Manon Rhéaume, Wyatt Russell Kirill Kaprizov, Wild Trevor Zegras, Ducks Jack Hughes, Devils Alex DeBrincat, Blackhawks Alex Pietrangelo, Golden Knights

2016 winner: P.K. Subban


NHL 21 IN 22 (new event) Nazem Kadri, Avalanche Auston Matthews, Maple Leafs Joe Pavelski, Stars Steven Stamkos, Lightning Brady Tkachuk, Senators

From the NHL:

Shutting down part of Las Vegas Boulevard to hang a full deck of oversized cards on a rack puts a new twist on street hockey. 21 in ’22 is a game of chance, strategy and skill. The object of the game is to achieve a hand of 21 without going bust, in the least number of shots. The player who wins two rounds is crowned Puck Shark.

NHL ACCURACY SHOOTING Four passers, including Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson Leon Draisaitl, Oilers Clayton Keller, Coyotes Rasmus Dahlin, Sabres Sebastian Aho, Hurricanes Jake Guentzel, Penguins Troy Terry, Ducks Johnny Gaudreau, Flames Patrice Bergeron, Bruins Jonathan Marchessault, Golden Knights

2020 winner: Jaccob Slavin, 9.505

Check out 2022 NHL All-Star Game rosters; Fans get to vote 'Last Men In'

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA - OCTOBER 12: Robin Lehner #90 of the Vegas Golden Knights wears a 2022 NHL All-Star logo patch in the third period of the Seattle Kraken’s inaugural regular-season game at T-Mobile Arena on October 12, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Golden Knights defeated the Kraken 4-3. The 2022 NHL All-Star Weekend will be held in Las Vegas in February 2022. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

Getty Images

2022 NHL All-Star Game rosters

Atlantic Division (All-Star Appearance)

F Auston Matthews, TOR (4th) - captain F Steven Stamkos, TB (7th) - via “NHL Last Men In” vote *F Drake Batherson, OTT (1st) - will not attend due to injury F Brady Tkachuk, OTT (2nd) - replacing Batherson F Patrice Bergeron, BOS (3rd) F Jonathan Huberdeau, FLA (2nd) F Dylan Larkin, DET (2nd) F Nick Suzuki, MTL (1st) D Rasmus Dahlin, BUF (1st) D Victor Hedman, TBL (3rd) G Jack Campbell, TOR (1st) G Andrei Vasilevskiy, TBL (4th)

Central Division (All-Star Appearance)

*F Nathan MacKinnon, COL (4th) - will not be able to attend due to injury F Joe Pavelski, DAL (4th) - replacing MacKinnon as captain F Nazem Kadri, COL (1st) - via “NHL Last Men In” vote F Kyle Connor, WPG (1st) F Alex DeBrincat, CHI (1st) F Kirill Kaprizov, MIN (1st) F Clayton Keller, ARI (2nd) F Jordan Kyrou, STL (1st) D Cale Makar, COL (1st) D Roman Josi, NSH (5th) - replacing MacKinnon G Juuse Saros, NSH (1st) G Cam Talbot, MIN (1st)

[MORE: Brunette, Bednar, Brind’Amour, DeBoer named NHL All-Star coaches]

Metropolitan Division (All-Star Appearance)

F Claude Giroux, PHI (7th) - replacing Ovechkin as captain *F Alex Ovechkin, WSH (8th) - will not attend after entering NHL COVID protocol *F Mika Zibanejad, NYR (1st) - will not attend due to personal reasons F Jake Guentzel, PIT (1st) - replacing Zibanejad via “Last Men in Vote” F Tom Wilson, WSH (1st) - replacing Ovechkin F Sebastian Aho, CAR (2nd) F Jack Hughes, NJD (1st) F Chris Kreider, NYR (2nd) F Evgeny Kuznetsov WSH (2nd) - replacing Fox *D Adam Fox, NYR (1st) - will not attend due to injury D Adam Pelech, NYI (1st) D Zach Werenski, CBJ (2nd) G Frederik Andersen, CAR (2nd) G Tristan Jarry, PIT (2nd)

Pacific Division (All-Star Appearance)

F Connor McDavid, EDM (5th) - captain F Troy Terry, ANA (1st) - via “NHL Last Men In” vote F Leon Draisaitl, EDM (3rd) F Jordan Eberle, SEA (2nd) F Johnny Gaudreau, CGY (6th) F Adrian Kempe, LAK (1st) F Timo Meier, SJS (1st) F Mark Stone, VGK (1st) F Jonathan Marchessault, VGK (1st) D Alex Pietrangelo, VGK (3rd) G Thatcher Demko, VAN (1st) G John Gibson, ANA (3rd)


Sean Leahy is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @Sean_Leahy.