Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Poll: Who will win the 2012 Masterton Trophy?

NHL Awards Show

LAS VEGAS, NV - JUNE 22: Ian Laperriere of the Philadelphia Flyers speak after he accepts the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy during the 2011 NHL Awards at The Pearl concert theater at the Palms Casino Resort June 22, 2011 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

Getty Images

As mentioned earlier, the finalists for this year’s Bill Masterton Trophy -- given annually to the player best exemplifying perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey -- are Ottawa’s Daniel Alfredsson, Toronto’s Joffrey Lupul and Montreal’s Max Pacioretty.

Before the vote, a few things to consider:

-- This award is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

-- The Maple Leafs are quite familiar with this trophy. Phil Kessel, Toronto’s leading scorer this season, won the Masterton in 2007 after missing 12 games because of testicular cancer mid-season. A year later, then-Leafs forward Jason Blake won the award after playing a full 82-game season following his diagnosis with chronic myelogenous leukemia.

-- The last Canadien to win the award was Saku Koivu in 2001-02. Koivu overcame non-Hodgkin lymphoma to resume his captaincy duties for Montreal.

-- No Senator has ever won the Masterton.

Onto the poll...

[polldaddy poll=6167528]