Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Your Capitals-Rangers Game 7 officials are…

New York Rangers  v Pittsburgh Penguins - Game Seven

Alain Vigneault

Getty Images

Per Scouting the Refs, they’ll be referees Kevin Pollock (No. 33) and Wes McCauley (No. 4), with Pierre Racicot (No. 65) and Derek Amell (No. 75) working the lines.

Standbys are referee Francis Charron and linesman David Brisebois.

Some notes on tonight’s zebras…

• Pollock and McCauley have become something of a “go-to” tandem after not working together much in the early part of the playoffs. They called Game 7 of the Tampa Bay-Detroit series -- a game that featured 18 PIM -- and also worked Game 5 of this series (which featured the Joel Ward disallowed goal, which Pollock waved off.)

• “The goaltender wasn’t allowed to play his position in the crease,” series officiating manager Rob Shick said of Pollock’s call, per the New York Daily News. “Incidental contact (by Ward). I support the call. Results in no goal, no penalty.”

• In Round 1, Pollock worked the close-out Game 6 of the Minnesota-St. Louis series (in which only five total penalties were called.) McCauley worked the close-out Game 5 of the New York Rangers-Pittsburgh series (in which only six total penalties were called.)

As for the history Washington and New York have in Game 7s…

• The clubs will face off in a Game 7 for the third time in four years and for the fourth time overall, each coming in the past seven seasons. Washington won the first such meeting in 2009, while the Rangers have eliminated the Capitals twice in the past three seasons (2012 and 2013).

• Since their elimination by the Capitals in 2009, the Rangers have posted five consecutive Game 7 wins. Their streak is one shy of the NHL record set by the Detroit Red Wings, who won six consecutive Game 7s between 1949 and 1964, and the Boston Bruins, who captured six straight between 1983 and 1994. The Rangers also have won six consecutive Game 7s on Madison Square Garden ice, a streak dating to 1992.