Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

USWNT dominate FIFA’s best player, coach award nominees

FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019"Women:  United States of America v The Netherlands"

goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher of USA women, Mallory Pugh of USA women, Samantha Mewis of USA women, Becky Sauerbrunn of USA women, Kelley O Hara of USA women, Morgan Brian of USA women, Abby Dahlkemper of USA women, Julie Ertz of USA women, Lindsey Horan of USA women, Carli Lloyd of USA women, Ali ~Krieger of USA women, Tierna Davidson of USA women, Alex Morgan of USA women, Emily Sonnett of USA women, Megan Rapinoe of USA women, Rose Lavelle of USA women, Tobin Heath of USA women, goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris of USA women, Crystal Dunn of USA women, Allie Long of USA women, goalkeeper Adrianna Franch of USA women, Jessica McDonald of USA women, Christen Press of USA women, coach Jill Ellis of USA women during the FIFA Women’s World Cup France 2019 final match between United States of America and The Netherlands at Stade de Lyon on July 07, 2019 in Lyon, France(Photo by VI Images via Getty Images)

VI-Images via Getty Images

The two-time reigning World Cup champions understandably lead the way in terms of nominees for FIFA’s top awards.

Four USWNT players have been nominated to be crowned the best women’s player on the planet over the past 12 months, while Jill Ellis (who announced yesterday she will depart in October) has been nominated for the best coach in the female game.

Julie Ertz, Megan Rapinoe, Rose Lavelle and Alex Morgan are the four nominees from the USWNT, as the list of 12 nominees takes into account performances from 25 May 2018 to 7 July 2019. Rapinoe was named the best player at the 2019 World Cup, while Lavelle was named the third best overall as the U.S. secured back-to-back titles under Ellis.

Ellis is the favorite to win the Coach of the Year award in the women’s game, while Phil Neville of England is also a leading contender along with Reynald Pedros of Lyon among the 10 nominees. NC Courage head coach Paul Riley is also nominated, and he is one of the leading contenders to replace Ellis as the new USWNT head coach.

Ada Hegerberg, who won the award last year, is once again nominated despite her ongoing dispute with the Norwegian FA which saw the Lyon star miss out on the World Cup, while Norway’s Caroline Graham Hansen is included, with England’s Lucy Bronze (who was named the second best player at the 2019 World Cup) and Ellen White, Australia’s Sam Kerr, plus Dutch star Vivianne Miedema and French duo Wendi Renard and Amandine Henry.

Rapinoe is the favorite given her superb displays at the 2019 World Cup, but the likes of Hegerberg, Renard and Bronze will be right up there as they’ve been stars for the all conquering Lyon in the club game.

Below is the list of the nominees for the player and coach of the year award, which will be announced at FIFA’s ceremony in Milan on Sept. 23.

FIFA Best Player of the Year nominees

Lucy Bronze - Lyon and England
Julie Ertz - Chicago Red Stars and USWNT
Caroline Graham Hansen - Wolfsburg (now Barcelona) and Norway
Ada Hegerberg - Lyon and Norway
Amandine Henry - Lyon and France
Sam Kerr - Chicago Red Stars and Australia
Rose Lavelle - Washington Spirit and USWNT
Vivianne Miedema - Arsenal and Netherlands
Alex Morgan - Orlando Pride and USWNT
Megan Rapinoe - Seattle Reigns and USWNT
Wendie Renard - Lyon and France
Ellen White - Manchester City and England

FIFA Best Coach of the Year nominees

Melina Bertolini - Italy
Jill Ellis - USA
Peter Gerhardsson - Sweden
Futoshi Ikeda - Japan U20
Antonia Is - Spain U17
Joe Montemurro - Arsenal
Phil Neville - England
Reynald Pedros - Lyon
Paul Riley - NC Courage
Sarina Wiegman - Netherlands

Follow @JPW_NBCSports