Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

O’Brien Award snubs Clausen

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award announced its three finalists, and Jimmy Clausen was not one of them.

Houston’s Case Keenum, Texas’ Colt McCoy, and Florida’s Tim Tebow will attend the ESPNU College Football Awards Show December 10th, with the winner announced that evening.

Keenum leads the nation in passing yards, averaging 414 yards per game and leading the country with 36 touchdown passes against only 6 interceptions. He’s attempted 53 more passes than the next closest quarterback in the country, but even then he’s averaging 8.3 yards per attempt, good for 16th in the country.

Tebow’s invitation was practically a foregone conclusion, even if his numbers were fairly pedestrian compared to his Heisman winning sophomore season. The same could be said for Colt McCoy, who fared quite well last awards season, even if he did lose the Heisman to close friend and rival quarterback Sam Bradford.

Yet it’s tough to compare the three finalists’ numbers with Clausen’s and make the argument that Jimmy should be staying home. Jimmy has a better passer rating than Tebow and McCoy, averages more yards an attempt than Keenum and McCoy, and has thrown less interceptions than all of them.

Still, with Notre Dame’s late season swoon, it’s easy to understand why Clausen didn’t get the nod over Keenum, a quarterback that is putting up absolutely gaudy numbers in a pass-happy system.