Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Yadier Molina leads fifth annual “Fielding Bible Awards”

Milwaukee Brewers v St. Louis Cardinals

ST. LOUIS - AUGUST 18: Yadier Molina #4 of the St. Louis Cardinals throws to first base against the Milwaukee Brewers at Busch Stadium on August 18, 2010 in St. Louis, Missouri. The Brewers beat the Cardinals 3-2. (Photo by Dilip Vishwanat/Getty Images)

Getty Images

For those of us who have come to more or less ignore Gold Glove awards as a meaningful way to measure defensive excellence, the fifth annual Fielding Bible Awards were announced today.

Voted on by a 10-person panel that includes Bill James, Peter Gammons, Joe Posnanski, Rob Neyer, and John Dewan as well as the entire video scouting team at Baseball Info Solutions, the award sets out to recognize the best defensive player at each position, regardless of league.

Here are the 2010 winners:

C - Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B - Daric Barton, A’s
2B - Chase Utley, Phillies
SS - Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
3B - Evan Longoria, Rays
LF - Brett Gardner, Yankees
CF - Michael Bourn, Astros
RF - Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners
P - Mark Buehrle, White Sox

I might choose differently at two or three spots, but those guys are all legitimately elite defenders at their position and unfortunately that can’t always be said about the Gold Glove winners. I’d be surprised if more than five of the Fielding Bible Award recipients also won a Gold Glove despite the latter being given to one representative for each league.

Molina is the first unanimous selection in the five-year history of the Fielding Bible Awards, and he joins Suzuki, Buehrle, and Tulowitzki as repeat winners.