Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

ARCA: Mason Mitchell wins at Kansas, Grant Enfinger crowned 2015 champ

arca logo

Friday’s Full Throttle S’loonshine 98.9 ARCA Racing Series season finale at Kansas Speedway was a tale of two wins.

Not only did Mason Mitchell win the race, teammate Grant Enfinger won his first ARCA championship.

It was Mitchell’s second win of the season (and second in the last three races), as well as his third career ARCA victory.

In Mitchell’s last four races this season, he’s finished third, first, second and first yet again.

Meanwhile, Enfinger, finished third in Friday night’s race, capping a season that included wins in six of the season’s 20 races.

That included capturing the first three races of the season for the second consecutive season.

Enfinger also wound up earning a total of 12 top-fives and 16 top-10s, meaning he finished in the top 10 in more than 75 percent of the races. He becomes the ninth different ARCA champion in the last nine seasons.

Rookie of the Year Kyle Weatherman finished second, followed by Enfinger, Ryan Reed, John Wes Townley, Travis Braden, Tom Hessert, David Levine, Matt Kurzejewski and Jairo Avila.

With 31 laps to go, pole-sitter Daniel Suarez was running second when the right front tire on this Toyota appeared to blow and sent him hard into the wall.

John Wes Townley took the lead on the final restart with 10 laps left, but after several tries, Mitchell finally took the point with six laps to go and sailed on to Victory Lane.

Follow @JerryBonkowski