Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar GMR Grand Prix starting lineup at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Romain Grosjean outqualifies two-time IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden on the 14-turn, 2.39-mile road course at IMS to earn the top starting spot Friday for the GMR Grand Prix.

Romain Grosjean, who is a “rookie” in the NTT IndyCar Series but also an accomplished Formula One veteran, will lead the field to the green Saturday in the starting lineup of the GMR GP at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

It’s only the third start for the Dale Coyne Racing Rick Ware Racing driver, who line up alongside two-time IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden for the first rolling start of his pro racing career.

Grosjean is barely six months removed from suffering burns in a fiery crash in Bahrain that ended his F1 career.

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for tire choices for the grid

“Amazing,” Grosjean said Friday after winning the pole position. “When I saw the (first qualifying) group I was in, I was like, ‘Oh, dear, if we can get out of the first group, we’re going to be OK,’ and we did. That last few laps, we were on it. What a day for us.

“I’m happier than I have been in a very long time.”

INDYCAR SATURDAY: How to watch the GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

INDYCAR IN MAY: On-track schedules for Indianapolis Motor Speedway over the next three weeks

INDY 500 PRIMER: Start times, schedules, TV, stats, historical details about the race

Here’s the IndyCar starting lineup Saturday in the GMR GP at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course (Position, car number, driver, manufacturer):


1. (51) Romain Grosjean, Honda
2. (2) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet


3. (60) Jack Harvey, Honda
4. (10) Alex Palou, Honda


5. (3) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet
6. (20) Conor Daly, Chevrolet


7. (21) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet
8. (26) Colton Herta, Honda


9. (18) Ed Jones, Honda
10. (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet


11. (15) Graham Rahal, Honda
12. (12) Will Power, Chevrolet


13. (7) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet
14. (27) Alexander Rossi, Honda


15. (8) Marcus Ericsson, Honda
16. (9) Scott Dixon, Honda


17. (30) Takuma Sato, Honda
18. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet

ROW 10

19. (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda
20. (14) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet

ROW 11

21. (11) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet
22. (29) James Hinchcliffe, Honda

ROW 12

23. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Honda
24. (4) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet

ROW 13

25. (86) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet