Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar results and points after GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis road course

An early gamble from Colton Herta paid off as he took home the GMR Grand Prix victory on a rainy, caution-filled day at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

GMR Grand Prix Indianapolis results, points: Colton Herta led 50 of 75 laps Saturday to capture his seventh career NTT IndyCar Series victory and first on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Setting the fastest lap of the race (1 minute, 11.7415 seconds/122.389 mph) on Lap 31, the Andretti Autosport driver improved five spots to sixth in the championship standings.

His next chance for an IMS breakthrough will be May 29 with the 106th Indy 500.

“The crew did an amazing job today,” Herta said. “It feels awesome to get my first win here in Indy. I’ve never won here in IndyCar. I won the Freedom 100 and the Indy Lights road course so winning here felt right. I’m sure it’s going to feel even more right if we can do it at the end of the month.”

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Saturday after the GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway:


Click here for the box score from the 75-lap race (shortened from 85 laps by two-hour time constraints) on the 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Click here for the lap leader summary and here for the pit stop performance.

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Here is the finishing order in the GMR Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (14) Colton Herta, Honda, 75, Running
2. (20) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 75, Running
3. (1) Will Power, Chevrolet, 75, Running
4. (18) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 75, Running
5. (4) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 75, Running
6. (6) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 75, Running
7. (13) Takuma Sato, Honda, 75, Running
8. (7) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 75, Running
9. (8) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 75, Running
10. (21) Scott Dixon, Honda, 75, Running
11. (16) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 75, Running
12. (24) David Malukas, Honda, 75, Running
13. (9) Jack Harvey, Honda, 75, Running
14. (19) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 75, Running
15. (25) Tatiana Calderon, Chevrolet, 75, Running
16. (12) Graham Rahal, Honda, 75, Running
17. (10) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 74, Running
18. (2) Alex Palou, Honda, 74, Running
19. (5) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 74, Running
20. (11) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 74, Running
21. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 73, Running
22. (27) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 73, Running
23. (15) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 73, Running
24. (23) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 72, Contact
25. (3) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 60, Running
26. (22) Kyle Kirkwood, Chevrolet, 53, Contact
27. (26) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 34, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 90.008 mph; Time of race: 2:01:56.3273; Margin of victory: Under caution; Cautions: 8 for 31 laps; Lead changes: 10 among 6 drivers; Lap leaders:
O’Ward 1-2; Rosenqvist 3-4; Herta 5-31; O’Ward 32; Rosenqvist 33-34; Calderon 35; Ericsson 36-45; Herta 46-59; McLaughlin 60-64; O’Ward 65-66; Herta 67-75.


Click here for the points tally in Saturday’s race.

Here are the points standings after the fifth race of the season for:


Engine manufacturers


Top 10 in points: Power 170, Palou 156, McLaughlin 152, Newgarden 140, Dixon 133, Herta 132, O’Ward 126, Ericsson 117, Grosjean 114, VeeKay 113.

NEXT: The 106th Indy 500 will take place May 29 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Broadcast coverage will begin at 11 a.m. ET on NBC.

HOW TO WATCH INDYCAR IN 2022: Full NBC Sports schedule with dates, times, networks/streaming

To purchase tickets to the Indy 500, click here to reserve a seat.