Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Ty Dillon on pole for tonight’s Truck Series season opener

NextEra Energy Resources 250 - Practice

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - FEBRUARY 19: Ty Dillon, driver of the #33 Rheem/Gemaire Chevrolet, practices for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway on February 19, 2015 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/NASCAR via Getty Images)

NASCAR via Getty Images

One day after making his first career Daytona 500, Ty Dillon has won the pole for tonight’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season opener at Daytona International Speedway.

Dillon posted a final-round lap at 188.774 mph in the No. 33 Chevrolet that was enough to hold off former Truck Series champion Travis Kvapil (188.707) for the top spot on the NextEra Energy Resources 250 starting grid.

Brad Keselowski Racing teammates Tyler Reddick (188.123) and Austin Theriault (187.786) will make up Row 2, followed by another former series champion, James Buescher, and reigning series rookie of the year Ben Kennedy in Row 3.

Timothy Peters has been forced to a back-up truck after he was tagged by Norm Benning during the first round of qualifying and sent spinning into the wall. Also among those failing to advance from the first round was back-to-back defending Truck Series champion Matt Crafton.

Green flag for tonight’s 100-lap, 250-mile race is scheduled for shortly after 7:30 p.m. ET.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series - NextEra Energy Resources 250
Starting Lineup

Row 1: Ty Dillon, Travis Kvapil
Row 2: Tyler Reddick, Austin Theriault
Row 3: James Buescher, Ben Kennedy
Row 4: Erik Jones, Chris Fontaine
Row 5: Scott Lagasse Jr., Spencer Gallagher
Row 6: Jennifer Jo Cobb, Donnie Neuenberger
Row 7: David Gilliland, Cameron Hayley
Row 8: Ray Black Jr., Matt Tifft
Row 9: Austin Hill, Joe Nemechek
Row 10: Johnny Sauter, Daniel Hemric
Row 11: Ryan Ellis, Norm Benning
Row 12: Korbin Forrister, Todd Peck
Row 13: Justin Boston, John Wes Townley
Row 14: Justin Marks, Bryan Silas
Row 15: Tyler Young, Daniel Suarez
Row 16: Matt Crafton, Timothy Peters

Failed to qualify
Mason Mingus, Justin Jennings, Cody Ware, Clay Greenfield, Jordan Anderson

Follow @estradawriting