Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Roberto Luongo, Pekka Rinne and Tim Thomas named Vezina Trophy finalists; Who wins?

Tim Thomas;

Boston Bruins goalie Tim Thomas poses with the Vezina Trophy, for the top goaltender, at the National Hockey League awards in Las Vegas on Thursday, June 18 2009. Thomas beat out Steve Mason of the Columbus Blue Jackets and Niklas Backstrom of the Minnesota Wild in voting by the NHL’s general managers. (AP Photo/The Canadian Press, Ryan Remiorz)


The 2010-11 season was a great one for several goalies, but the NHL singled out three players as the final nominees for the Vezina Trophy: Roberto Luongo, Pekka Rinne and Tim Thomas. The trophy’s parameters are quite simple: voters are asked to choose the best goalie. Before we get to the poll, here’s a quick rundown of each goalie’s season.

Roberto Luongo

Record: 38-15-7; Save Percentage: 92.8; GAA: 2.10; SO: 4

The case for Luongo is simple: he’s the top goalie on the best team in the league. Even with the strength around him, he put up great individual numbers. The NHL’s press release reveals that his 92.8 save percentage is the fourth-best in the league while his GAA was second best. He’s now a three-time finalist for Vezina recognition.

Pekka Rinne

Record: 33-22-9; Save Percentage: 93; GAA: 2.12; SO: 6

The Predators are good to goalies, even if they seem to have a weird tradition in which No. 1 goalies get injured to uncover great backups. That wasn’t the case this season, though, as Rinne distinguished himself as a truly elite netminder. He started 42 out of the team’s last 46 games as the team managed to earn a fifth seed. His 93 save percentage only ranked behind the record-breaking mark earned by Thomas.

Tim Thomas

Record: 35-11-9; Save percentage: 93.8; GAA: 2; SO: 9

Thomas dominates in just about every goalie category except overall games started. Even without that quantity, Thomas showed the qualities to earn 35 wins and gain a point for Boston in nine more. His save percentage broke Dominik Hasek’s record, his 2.00 GAA was the best in the league and his nine shutouts ranked second. He bounced back dramatically this season after failing to keep the momentum going in 2009-10 after winning the 2008-09 Vezina.

All three candidates have their strengths, so now it’s your chance to decide: who deserves the 2010-11 Vezina Trophy? Share your opinion in the poll below.

[polldaddy poll=4956456]