Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

The Masterton Trophy nominees update II

Thanks to James Mirtle over at the Globe and Mail, we have a running tally over each team’s nominee for the Masterton Trophy, given to the player who displays “qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.” Here are the nominees that we have so far (we’re only missing Dallas, Edmonton and the NY Islanders):

Anaheim: Teemu Selanne
Atlanta: Jim Slater
Boston: Mark Recchi
Buffalo: Ryan Miller
Calgary: Craig Conroy
Carolina: Rod Brind’Amour
Chicago: Brent Sopel
Colorado: Matt Hendricks
Columbus: Jared Boll
Detroit: Tomas Holmstrom
Florida: Bryan Allen
Los Angeles: Brad Richardson
Minnesota: Guillaume Latendresse
Montreal: Jaroslav Halak
Nashville: Joel Ward
New Jersey: Patrik Elias
NY Islanders:
NY Rangers: Chris Drury
Ottawa: Matt Carkner
Philadelphia: Mike Leighton
Phoenix: Vernon Fiddler
Pittsburgh: Bill Guerin
San Jose: Jed Ortmeyer
St. Louis: Erik Johnson
Tampa Bay: Kurtis Foster
Toronto: Jonas Gustavsson
Vancouver: Henrik Sedin
Washington: Jose Theodore

Jose Theodore is the ‘favorite’ to win this award. For more on why, and how Theodore has persevered through so much, you can read this great story about him on Japers’ Rink.