Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

WATCH LIVE: Blackhawks - Maple Leafs on Wednesday Night Hockey


NBCSN’s coverage of the 2018-19 NHL season continues with the Wednesday Night Hockey matchup between the Chicago Blackhawks and Toronto Maple Leafs. Coverage begins at 6 p.m. ET on NBCSN. You can watch the game online and on the NBC Sports app by clicking here.

As PHT’s Joey Alfieri chronicled in the Push for the Playoffs, the Blackhawks face long odds to make the postseason. The Maple Leafs, meanwhile, wonder how far they can advance in the 2019 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

To some extent, then, Wednesday’s game seems like a match between a team that dominated the past (Blackhawks) against one that hopes to reach new heights in the near future (Maple Leafs). But either way, there will be plenty of talent on hand.

In one of the earliest games of the season, Auston Matthews and Patrick Kane traded impressive goals (and engaged in a good-natured feud over Matthews doing the “shhh” motion with his finger over his mouth), with Toronto emerging as the winner in overtime. Since then, it’s only been natural to hope that the two American superstars can entertain us with another game of high-level H-O-R-S-E.

It will be a challenge to reach those levels again, but it should be fun to watch those two stars try.

What: Chicago Blackhawks at Toronto Maple Leafs
Where: Scotiabank Arena
When: Wednesday, March 13, 6 p.m. ET
Live stream: You can watch the Blues-Flyers stream on NBC Sports’ live stream page and the NBC Sports app.



Brandon Saad -- Jonathan Toews -- Dylan Sikura

Dominik Kahun -- Artem Anisimov -- Patrick Kane

Alex DeBrincat -- Dylan Strome -- Brendan Perlini

Chris Kunitz -- David Kampf -- Marcus Kruger

Duncan Keith - Erik Gustafsson

Carl Dahlstrom -- Connor Murphy

Gustav Forsling -- Brent Seabrook

Starting goalie: Corey Crawford


Andreas Johnsson -- Auston Matthews -- William Nylander

Zach Hyman -- John Tavares -- Mitchell Marner

Patrick Marleau -- Nazem Kadri -- Connor Brown

Tyler Ennis -- Frederik Gauthier -- Trevor Moore

Morgan Rielly -- Ron Hainsey

Jake Muzzin -- Nikita Zaitsev

Martin Marincin -- Igor Ozhiganov

Starting goalie: Frederik Andersen

Six-time Emmy Award-winner Mike ‘Doc’ Emrick (play-by-play), Jeremy Roenick (analyst), and Emmy Award-winner Pierre McGuire (‘Inside-the-Glass’analyst) will have the call from Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Pre-game coverage starts at 6 p.m. ET with NHL Live, hosted by Liam McHugh alongside Mike Milbury, Keith Jones and Bob McKenzie.

James O’Brien is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at or follow him on Twitter @cyclelikesedins.