Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Katie Ledecky announces swimsuit sponsor

TYR Pro Swim Series at Indianapolis - Day Two

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MAY 17: Katie Ledecky reacts after winning the women’s 400 meter freestyle final during the TYR Pro Swim Series at Indiana University Natatorium on May 17, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Bobby Ellis/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Katie Ledecky will wear Tyr swimsuits as she pursues a third Olympics in 2020, signing what Tyr called “the most lucrative partnership in the history of the swim industry,” reportedly through the 2024 Games.

“I am excited to partner with Tyr as I take this important step in my career,” the five-time Olympic champion said in a press release Friday. “We share a vision of growing the sport for current and future generations of swimmers, and we will build towards that goal together. I appreciate Tyr’s investment in me, and their commitment to technology that is critical to my ongoing quest to swim faster.”

Ledecky, who turned professional after finishing her sophomore season at Stanford in March, swims in her last full meet before the U.S. Championships at a Pro Series event in Santa Clara, Calif., live on NBCSN and Olympic Channel starting Friday.

A full broadcast schedule is here.

Ledecky bucked history of marquee U.S. swimmers signing with Speedo.

Michael Phelps turned pro in 2001, signing with Speedo. Natalie Coughlin followed in 2004. In 2006, Ryan Lochte turned pro with a 10-year Speedo deal (but lost all his sponsors after his Rio gas-station incident and is now with Tyr). Missy Franklin chose Speedo when she turned pro in 2015.

Tyr signed its first eventual Olympic champion swimmer, Matt Grevers, in 2003. Its roster now also includes Olympic gold medalists Dana Vollmer, Cody Miller and Leah Smith, in addition to Lochte.

Tyr, named for the Norse god of warriors, was founded in 1985 by Joseph DiLorenzo and 1972 Olympic bronze medalist Steve Furniss.

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

MORE: Missy Franklin enters first swim meet since Rio Olympics