Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Nastia Liukin adds to history of Olympians on ‘Dancing With the Stars’

Nastia Liukin

SOCHI, RUSSIA - FEBRUARY 05: (BROADCAST-OUT) Retired gymnast Nastia Liukin reports for NBC Sports in the Olympic Park ahead of the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics on February 5, 2014 in Sochi, Russia. (Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Nastia Liukin will be the third U.S. Olympic champion gymnast to compete on “Dancing With the Stars,” joining the roster for the 20th season to debut March 16.

Liukin, 25 and the 2008 Olympic all-around champion, follows Beijing teammate Shawn Johnson, who won the show in its eighth season. Aly Raisman danced in season 16, following her double gold performance in at London 2012.

The full cast for season 20 is here.

Liukin’s inclusion marks the 16th of 20 seasons that the show will include at least one Olympian. Four Olympians have won “Dancing With the Stars” -- Meryl Davis, Apolo Ohno, Kristi Yamaguchi and Johnson.

Here’s the history of Olympians and one Paralympian competing on “Dancing With the Stars:"

Season 1 -- Evander Holyfield (1984, boxing)
Season 4 -- Apolo Ohno (2002-2010, short track speed skating) -- WINNER, Clyde Drexler (1992, basketball)
Season 5 -- Floyd Mayweather Jr. (1996, boxing)
Season 6 -- Kristi Yamaguchi (1992, figure skating) -- WINNER, Monica Seles (1996-2000, tennis)
Season 7 -- Maurice Greene (2000-2004, track and field), Misty May-Treanor (2000-2012, volleyball)
Season 8 -- Shawn Johnson (2008, gymnastics) -- WINNER
Season 9 -- Louie Vito (2010, snowboarding), Natalie Coughlin (2004-2012, swimming)
Season 10 -- Evan Lysacek (2006-2010, figure skating)
Season 12 -- Sugar Ray Leonard (1976, boxing)
Season 13 -- Hope Solo (2004-2012, soccer)
Season 14 -- Martina Navratilova (2004, tennis)
Season 15 -- Shawn Johnson, Apolo Ohno
Season 16 -- Dorothy Hamill (1976, figure skating), Aly Raisman (2012, gymnastics)
Season 18 -- Meryl Davis (2010-2014, figure skating) -- WINNER, Charlie White (2010-2014, figure skating), Amy Purdy (2014, snowboarding)
Season 19 -- Lolo Jones (2008, 2012, 2014, track and field/bobsled)

Kyla Ross commits to UCLA

Follow @nzaccardi