Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Borg-McEnroe, Federer-Nadal Wimbledon finals air on NBCSN next week

Bjorn Borg, John McEnroe

Bjorn Borg of Sweden holds the Gentleman’s Singles trophy as John McEnroe looks down after losing their Men’s Singles Final match at the Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Championship on 6 July 1980 at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club in Wimbledon in London, England. (Photo by Steve Powell/Allsport/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Epic Wimbledon finals, including Bjorn Borg-John McEnroe and Roger Federer-Rafael Nadal, air on NBCSN in primetime next week.

The “NBC Sports From the Vault” series continues with Wimbledon and French Open finals on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Some highlights:

1980 Wimbledon men’s final (Monday, 9:30 p.m. ET): Borg denies McEnroe for his fifth straight title in what was considered the greatest match in history. Particularly for the fourth-set tiebreak, a 20-minute affair won by McEnroe 18-16, saving five championship points. Borg won the fifth set 8-6.

2008 Wimbledon men’s final (Tuesday, 7 p.m.): Considered by many to surpass Borg-McEnroe as the greatest match in history. Nadal won 6-4, 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-7 (8), 9-7 in 4 hours, 48 minutes. The match ended at 9:15 p.m. local time. Nadal broke Federer’s streak at five straight Wimbledon titles and later that summer overtook Federer for the No. 1 ranking for the first time.

2009 Wimbledon men’s final (Tuesday, 10 p.m.): Federer outlasted Andy Roddick 16-14 in the fifth set in an agonizing defeat for the American, who three years later retired without a Wimbledon title. Roddick, who went 0-8 against Federer in Grand Slams, squandered four straight set points in a second-set tiebreak, including a backhand volley miss with a relatively open court available. Federer broke Pete Sampras’ male record of 14 Grand Slam singles titles.

2005 French Open men’s final (Wednesday/Thursday, 12:30 a.m.): Nadal wins the first of his record 12 French Open crowns, rallying past unseeded Argentine Mariano Puerta in four sets after ousting Federer in the semifinals. Nadal, then 19 years and 2 days old, became the youngest French Open male champion since Michael Chang in 1989 and the first to win in his Roland Garros debut since Mats Wilander in 1982.

MORE: Novak Djokovic’s career regret -- the Olympics

OlympicTalk is on Apple News. Favorite us!

Monday, May 18: Breakfast at Wimbledon

2003 Wimbledon Ladies’ Final7 p.m.NBCSN
1980 Wimbledon Gentlemen’s Final9:30 p.m.NBCSN
1999 Wimbledon Gentlemen’s Final12:30 a.m.NBCSN

Tuesday, May 19: Breakfast at Wimbledon

2008 Wimbledon Gentlemen’s Final7 p.m.NBCSN
2009 Wimbledon Gentlemen’s Final10 p.m.NBCSN
2005 Wimbledon Ladies’ Final1 a.m.NBCSN

Wednesday, May 20: French Open

2006 French Open Men’s Final7 p.m.NBCSN
2011 French Open Men’s Final10 p.m.NBCSN
2005 French Open Men’s Final12:30 a.m.NBCSN