Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

U.S. women’s soccer team learns opponent for Olympic qualifying decider

Alex Morgan

Unites States’ Alex Morgan (13), Morgan Brian (14) and Crystal Dunn, right, celebrate a goal by Morgan against Costa Rica during the first half of a CONCACAF Olympic qualifying tournament soccer match Wednesday, Feb. 10, 2016, in Frisco, Texas. (AP Photo/Tony Gutierrez)


The U.S. women’s soccer team will reach its sixth straight Olympics if it beats Trinidad and Tobago, live on NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra on Friday at 8:30 p.m. ET.

The CONCACAF semifinals are Friday in Houston, with the two winners earning Rio Games berths and the losers being eliminated from Olympic qualifying.

The U.S., the three-time reigning Olympic champion, and Canada, the 2012 Olympic bronze medalist, topped their qualifying tournament groups. That means they’re in opposite semifinals.

The U.S. faces Trinidad and Tobago, which is ranked No. 48 in the world. The Americans crushed their group -- Costa Rica, Mexico and Puerto Rico -- by a combined 16-0.

Trinidad and Tobago beat Guatemala 2-1 and Guyana 5-1 with a 6-0 loss to Canada in between.

Canada, ranked No. 11 in the world, will face world No. 34 Costa Rica in the earlier semifinal at 5:30 p.m. ET.

The U.S. roster for Olympic qualifying includes 13 of the 23 players from the World Cup, led by Olympic champions Carli Lloyd, Alex Morgan and Hope Solo.

All 15 matches of the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying tournament are streamed live on NBC Sports Live Extra.

2016 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship Schedule

Frisco, Texas – Toyota Stadium Houston, Texas – BBVA Compass Stadium Times U.S. Central (U.S. Eastern in parentheses)

FIRST ROUND Group A: USA, Puerto Rico, Mexico, Costa Rica Group B: Canada, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana

Wednesday, Feb. 10 (Frisco) Mexico 6, Puerto Rico 0 U.S. 5, Costa Rica 0

Thursday, Feb. 11 (Houston) Trinidad and Tobago 2, Guatemala 1 Canada 5, Guyana 0

Saturday, Feb. 13 (Frisco) Costa Rica 9, Puerto Rico 0 U.S. 1, Mexico 0

Sunday, Feb. 14 (Houston) Guyana 2, Guatemala 1 Canada 6, Trinidad and Tobago 0

Monday, Feb. 15 (Frisco) Costa Rica 2, Mexico 1 U.S. 10, Puerto Rico 0

Tuesday, Feb. 16 (Houston) Trinidad and Tobago 5, Guyana 1 Canada 10, Guatemala 0


Friday, Feb. 19 (Houston) Canada vs. Costa Rica -- 4:30 p.m. (5:30 p.m.) U.S. vs. Trinidad and Tobago -- 7:30 p.m. (8:30 p.m.) NBCSN


Sunday, Feb. 21 (Houston) Semifinal winners 4 p.m. (5 p.m.) NBCSN at 11 p.m.

MORE: Hope Solo wouldn’t go to Olympics if she had to choose today

Follow @nzaccardi