Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Extra time and penalty kick rules

Becky Sauerbrunn shared her thoughts on the biggest talking points on and off the pitch ahead of the 2023 SheBelieves Cup, courtesy of U.S. Soccer and Veritone.

One of the most iconic moments in Women’s World Cup history came in 1999, when American Brandi Chastain scored the game-winning penalty kick against China to claim the World Cup title for the United States, ripping off her shirt and dropping to her knees in her sports bra in celebration.

While the United States converted on all five of their penalty kicks in the shootout of that 1999 Final, many don’t remember not a single goal was scored through 120 minutes of play leading up to that shootout.

When are extra time and penalty kicks needed in the World Cup?

In the group stage, matches can end in a tie, meaning no extra time is needed. However, in the knockout rounds when one team must advance, extra time is played when the match ends tied after 90 minutes of regulation.

Extra time consists of two, 15-minute halves. The full 30 minutes is played, regardless of how many goals are scored (equaling 120 minutes total, including the 90 minutes of regulation). If the match is still tied at the end of the 30 minutes of extra time, a penalty shootout is needed to determine a winner.

READ: Megan Rapinoe honored with Presidential Medal of Freedom

In the penalty shootout, each team selects five players to take a shot from the penalty spot, which is located 12 yards out from the goal. The teams alternate shooters until a winner is decided in a best-of-five format. If both teams are tied after each of their first five shooters have attempted a penalty, new players are selected to continue shooting in a sudden-death format.

How many Women’s World Cup Finals have gone to extra time?

Three Women’s World Cup Finals have gone to extra time, with two of those games decided in a penalty shootout. In 1999, the United States defeated China on penalty kicks at the Rose Bowl in California to claim the World Cup title. Four years later, Germany defeated Sweden in extra time of the final, with Nia Kunzer scoring the game-winning goal in the eighth minute of extra time. However, that 2003 Final used the golden goal rule, meaning the game ended with Germany declared winners as soon as Kunzer scored. That was the last World Cup to use the golden goal, with a full 30 minutes of extra time now played, regardless of how many goals are scored.

MORE: Premier League fixtures for 2022-23 season

The last Women’s World Cup Final to go to extra time was in 2011 between Japan and the United States, which was decided in a penalty shootout. Tied 1-1 after 90 minutes of regulation, an additional 30 minutes of extra time was played. Abby Wambach scored to give the USWNT a 2-1 lead, but Japan captain Homare Sawa scored in the 117th minute to tie the match and force a penalty shootout. The United States failed to convert on each of their first three penalty kicks and eventually lost 3-1 in the shootout.

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup schedule, start time, dates, how to watch live

  • When: July 20 to August 20
  • Location: Australia and New Zealand
  • TV channels en Español: Telemundo, Universo, Peacock
  • Streaming en Español: Peacock (all 64 matches)

Follow along with ProSoccerTalk for the latest news, scores, storylines, and updates surrounding the 2023 World Cup, and be sure to subscribe to NBC Sports on YouTube!