Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Luke Falk beats out two-time winner Baker Mayfield for 2017 Burlsworth Trophy

While it’s expected to end with a lot more hardware for his trophy cabinet, the 2017 awards season hasn’t gotten off to a winning start for Baker Mayfield.

Late last month, the Oklahoma quarterback and newly-minted two-time Heisman finalist lost out on the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award to Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph. Not to worry as Mayfield was also a finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy, an award he’s won twice; Monday, however, it was announced that Washington State quarterback Luke Falk has been selected as the winner of the 2017 Burlsworth Trophy.

Falk had been a finalist each of the past three years.

The award is given out annually to the nation’s top player who began his career as a walk-on and is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, the former All-SEC Arkansas offensive lineman who was killed in a car accident 11 days after the 1999 NFL draft.

Mayfield won that award in both 2015 and 2016.