Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

WATCH: 2016 Dakar Rally coverage starts tonight, 5:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN


competes in the Dakar Rally Prologue on January 2, 2016 outside Buenos Aires near Ariecifes, Argentina.

Dean Mouhtaropoulos

The adventure that is the Dakar Rally, one of the most challenging events all year, begins with daily coverage starting tonight at 5:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

It’s not been the best of starts to the 2016 edition of the Dakar, which runs from January 3-16 from Argentina to Bolivia. Four spectators were injured during a preliminary stage and the first scheduled official stage, on Sunday, was wiped due to poor weather conditions.

However, coverage will continue as scheduled on NBCSN with a recap of the prologue in today’s show.

Leigh Diffey hosts the rally; NBCSN Formula 1 on-site producer Jason Swales is on site in Argentina and will follow the Dakar as it goes ahead.

The official trailer is linked out here.

The full release from the NBC Sports Group Press Box is below:


NBCSN presents coverage of the world’s most challenging off-road endurance race during the next two weeks, when NBCSN begins its coverage of the 2016 Dakar Rally at 5:30 p.m. ET.

More than 550 competitors will race across nearly 5,000 miles of varying terrain across Argentina and Bolivia in the 37th installment of the Dakar Rally. The 13-stage event begins in Buenos Aires, Argentina, before weaving north into Bolivia, and concluding back in Rosario, Argentina.

NBCSN will present coverage of all 13 stages of the race beginning today at 5:30 p.m. ET. NBC Sports Group’s lead F1 and IndyCar play-by-play voice Leigh Diffey will provide commentary throughout NBCSN’s Dakar Rally coverage, which concludes on Jan. 17.

Mini has taken the past four Dakars in the car class, with Nasser Al-Attiyah winning his second Dakar Rally last year. Rafal Sonik looks to defend his title in the quad class, while Ayrat Mardeev won in the truck class in 2015. The motorcycle class will crown a new champion this year, after five-time champion Marc Coma, who won in 2015, announced his retirement and was named Sporting Director for the Dakar Rally.

Following is NBCSN’s complete next-day coverage of the 2016 Dakar Rally:

DateCoverageTime (ET)
Mon., January 4Stage 1 - Rosario to Villa Carlos Paz5:30 p.m.
Tue., January 5Stage 2 - Villa Carlos Paz to Termas De Rio Hondo5:30 p.m.
Wed., January 6Stage 3 – Termas De Rio Hondo to San Salvador De Jujuy5:30 p.m.
Thu., January 7Stage 4 - San Salvador De Jujuy to San Salvador De Jujuy5:30 p.m.
Fri., January 8Stage 5 - San Salvador De Jujuy to Uyuni5:30 p.m.
Sat., January 9Stage 6 – Uyuni to Uyuni5:30 p.m.
Sun., January 10Stage 7 – Uyuni to Salta6:30 p.m.
Mon., January 11Rest Day5:30 p.m.
Tue., January 12Stage 8 – Salta to Belen5:30 p.m.
Wed., January 13Stage 9 – Belen to Belen5:30 p.m.
Thu., January 14Stage 10 – Belen to La Rioja5:30 p.m.
Fri., January 15Stage 11 – La Rioja to San Juan5:30 p.m.
Sat., January 16Stage 12 – San Juan to Villa Carlos Paz5:30 p.m.
Sun., January 17Stage 13 – Villa Carlos Paz to Rosario5 p.m.

Follow @TonyDiZinno