Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Results from Sprint Cup race at Texas Motor Speedway

Carl Edwards is declared the winner at Texas after a rain-shortened race, which earns him a berth in the Chase finale.

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Carl Edwards secured a berth in the championship round of the 2016 playoffs, winning the rain-shortened AAA 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Edwards was leading when the race was stopped by rain after 293 of a scheduled 334 laps.

It was the fourth victory at the 1.5-mile oval for the Joe Gibbs Racing driver but his first since 2008.

Joey Logano led a race-high 178 laps and finished second, bolstering his chances of claiming one of the other two spots for title contenders.

Martin Truex Jr., Chase Elliott and Kyle Busch rounded out the top five.

Click here to see the results from the AAA 500.