Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Alexander Ovechkin wins Ted Lindsay Award

Alex Ovechkin

Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin (8), of Russia, celebrates his goal during the second period of an NHL hockey game against the Calgary Flames, Sunday, March 28, 2010, in Washington. The Flames won 5-3. (AP Photo/Nick Wass)


Bearing a new name, the former Pearson Trophy now the Ted Lindsay Award, the most valuable player as voted on by your peers is starting to get a bit familiar in who wins it. Alexander Ovechkin was voted the MVP by the players for the third consecutive year and the NHLPA was more than happy to share the news with everyone.

“I’d like to congratulate Alex Ovechkin on receiving this award after another great year. Receiving this nod of respect from your peers carries a lot of meaning, and I know Alex will cherish this honour,” said Lindsay, following the presentation of the first Ted Lindsay Award.

Obviously the award carries a bit more significance to it now that it bears the name of a player who fought hard to make sure other players weren’t railroaded by the owners and that future players wouldn’t have to deal with the issues they faced in their years of playing before the players union came along. For Ovechkin, this stands out that his peers think rather highly of him although I would be very curious to see how the voting results turned out for this award rather than having to rely on player surveys that come out periodically each year to tell us what some of the players think.