Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Naismith Award Watch List released

Duke v Louisville

LOUISVILLE, KY - FEBRUARY 20: Grayson Allen #3 of the Duke Blue Devils dribbles the ball during the game against the Louisville Cardinals at KFC YUM! Center on February 20, 2016 in Louisville, Kentucky. (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Here are the 50 players that were named to the Naismith Award Preseason Watch List.

There are a few omissions here, the most notable of which is probably O.G. Anunoby, the Indiana forward that many think could end up being a mid-to-late first round pick this season. That said, he’s always going to be a complimentary piece so I don’t think it’s really possible for him to win the Naismith Award even if he is a better basketball player than anyone on this list.

I would also argue that Creighton’s guards Marcus Foster and Mo Watson should be on this list, but it seems I’m much higher on that duo this year than anyone else so I guess it makes sense they’re not listed here.

For what it’s worth, we named Grayson Allen our Preseason Player of the Year.

Anyway, here is the full list:

Bam Adebayo, Kentucky, Fr.
Grayson Allen, Duke, Jr.
Jarrett Allen, Texas, Fr.
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State, So.
Lonzo Ball, UCLA, Fr.
V.J. Beachem, Notre Dame, Sr.
Joel Berry II, North Carolina, Jr.
James Blackson Jr., Indiana, Jr.
Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson, Sr.
Trevon Bluiett, Xavier, Jr.
Chris Boucher, Oregon, Sr.
Miles Bridges, Michigan State, Fr.
Dillon Brooks, Oregon, Jr.
Thomas Bryant, Indiana, So.
Troy Caupain, Cincinnati, Sr.
Tyler Davis, Texas A&M, So.
Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State, So.
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky, Fr.
Markelle Fultz, Washington, Fr.
Jack Gibbs, Davidson, Sr.
Harry Giles, Duke, Fr.
Devonte’ Graham, Kansas, Jr.
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin, So.
Josh Hart, Villanova, Sr.
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin, Sr.
Malcolm Hill, Illinois, Sr.
Josh Jackson, Kansas, Fr.
Justin Jackson, North Carolina, Jr.
Kris Jenkins, Villanova, Sr.
Peter Jok, Iowa, Sr.
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas, Sr.
Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin, Sr.
Dedric Lawson, Memphis, So.
Tyler Lydon, Syracuse, So.
Lauri Markkanen, Arizona, Fr.
Frank Mason III, Kansas, Sr.
E.C. Matthews, Rhode Island, Jr.
Malik Monk, Kentucky, Fr.
Monte’ Morris, Iowa State, Sr.
Jonathan Motley, Baylor, Sr.
Austin Nichols, Virginia, Sr.
London Perrantes, Virginia, Sr.
Alec Peters, Valparaiso, Sr.
Ivan Rabb, Cal, Sr.
Dennis Smith Jr., N.C. State, Fr.
Edmond Sumner, Xavier, So.
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue, So.
Jayson Tatum, Duke, Fr.
Melo Trimble, Maryland, Jr.
Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga, Jr.