Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Today’s Cup race at Dover: Start time, lineup and more

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Apache Warrior 400 presented by Lucas Oil

DOVER, DE - OCTOBER 01: Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Freight Toyota, leads a pack of cars during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Apache Warrior 400 presented by Lucas Oil at Dover International Speedway on October 1, 2017 in Dover, Delaware. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

With six winners in the first 10 races, will today’s event at Dover International Speedway see another new winner celebrating at the end of the race or will it be one who has already won? Among those seeking their first win of the year are Jimmie Johnson, Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch and Denny Hamlin.

Here are all the details for today’s race.

(All times are Eastern)

START: Philadelphia Eagles broadcasters Merrill Reese and Mike Quick will give the command to start engines at 1:52 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to wave at 2 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is scheduled for 400 laps (400 miles) around the 1-mile track.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends on Lap 120. Stage 2 ends on Lap 240.

PRERACE SCHEDULE: Garage opens at 8 a.m. Driver/crew chief meeting is at noon. Driver introductions are at 1:20 p.m.

NATIONAL ANTHEM: Country music star Jessica Lynn will perform the anthem at 1:46 p.m.

TV/RADIO: Fox Sports 1 will broadcast the race beginning at 2 p.m. Coverage begins at 12:30 p.m. Motor Racing Network’s radio broadcast begins at 1 p.m. and also can be heard at SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will have MRN’s broadcast.

FORECAST: calls for cloudy skies with a high of 62 degrees and 15 percent chance of rain at the start of the race.

LAST TIME: Jimmie Johnson won this event last year when it was held in June. Kyle Larson was second. Martin Truex Jr. was third. Kyle Busch won the playoff race in October. Chase Elliott placed second. Johnson finished third.

CARS TO THE REAR: Kyle Larson (failed inspection three times), Alex Bowman (failed inspection three times), Austin Dillon (noncompliance splitter), Corey LaJoie (engine change)

STARTING LINEUP: Click here for starting lineup