Skip navigation
Favorites
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Referees’ Union: No-call on Draymond Green was correct, NBA’s L2M is wrong

draymond davis

New Orleans Pelicans forward Anthony Davis (23) drives to the basket past Golden State Warriors forward Draymond Green (23) in the first half of an NBA basketball game in New Orleans, Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2016. (AP Photo/Tyler Kaufman)

AP

If you ever wanted a story about the Golden State Warriors, Draymond Green, Anthony Davis, a late-game steal and a disagreement between two officiating bodies in the NBA, well, I finally have it for you.

On Tuesday, the Warriors beat the New Orleans Pelicans thanks to a steal by Green on Davis. The Pelicans star thought he was fouled, but it was a no-call on the court.

Then the NBA released the L2M report -- a review session for calls at the end of games. The NBA determined that there should have been a foul on Green in the final moments, which would have given Davis a chance to tie the game with two free throws.

Is your head spinning? Ok, good. Mine too.

Finally, on Thursday, the National Basketball Referees Association -- the official union of NBA refs -- announced via their Twitter page that the game was indeed called correctly.

Well, we’re not getting a lockout now that the new CBA is likely to be ratified. How about a good ol’ officiating battle between the refs and the league?

Yeesh.