Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Blues’ Doug Armstrong is the General Manager of the Year

Doug Armstrong AP

The St. Louis Blues broke out this season, winning the Central Division title and capturing the second seed in the Western Conference. On Wednesday, the architect of that rising franchise, Doug Armstrong was selected as the NHL’s General Manager of the Year.

This is just the third season that the award has been given out and the winner is selected by a panel of NHL executives, all 30 GMs, and the print and
broadcast media.

Armstrong beat out Florida Panthers GM Dale Tallon by a score of 119 to 88 in the voting. Nashville Predators GM David Poile was the third finalist and finished with 62 points.

The St. Louis Blues coach, Ken Hitchcock, was also recognized on Wednesday with the Jack Adams Award.

Recent Winners:
2010 - Don Maloney
2011 - Mike Gillis