Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Plenty of changes coming as U.S. Open Cup field hits 91 teams

US Open Cup

The 2015 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup will feature the most combatants in 20 years, as 90 teams join the champion Seattle Sounders in the race for the trophy.

The Open Cup will now see the bracket fixed, with the exception of teams with shared ownership meeting in the quarterfinal or semifinals. Teams will also be reordered into geographical sections to reduce travel.

[ MORE: Latest Men in Blazers podcast ] has the list of teams which have already qualified for the 2015 tournament. All 17 U.S.-based MLS teams make the tournament.

The tournament begins in late April.

Qualified Teams
US Specialty Sports Association (1): to be determined
US Club Soccer (1): San Francisco City FC
US Adult Soccer Association (11): Maryland Bays, New York Greek American Atlas, KC Athletics, Madison Fire, Rayados, Triangle Brigade, Cal FC, Chula Vista FC, Mass Premier Soccer, PSA Elite, RWB Adria.
National Premier Soccer League (12): Brooklyn Italians, Chattanooga FC, Greater Binghamton Thunder, Lansing United, Miami United, Tulsa Athletics, Upward Star (S.C.), 5 to be determined
Premier Development League (19): Des Moines Menace, FC Tucson, Jersey Express, Kitsap Pumas, Michigan Bucks, Ocala Stampede, Seacoast United Phantoms, Ventura County Fusion, West Virginia Chaos, AC Connecticut, Burlingame Dragons (San Jose Earthquakes), BYU Cougars, Golden State Misioneros, Laredo Heat, Long Island Rough Riders, Midland/Odessa Sockers, Reading United (Philadelphia Union), SW Florida Adrenaline, Western Mass Pioneers.
USL PRO (21): Arizona United, Austin Aztex, Charleston Battery, Charlotte Independence, Colorado Springs Switchbacks, Harrisburg City Islanders, LA Galaxy II, Louisville City, New York Red Bulls USL PRO, Oklahoma City Energy, Orange County Blues, Pittsburgh Riverhounds, Portland Timbers 2, Real Monarchs, Richmond Kickers, Rochester Rhinos, Sacramento Republic, Saint Louis FC, Seattle Sounders 2, Tulsa Roughnecks, Wilmington Hammerheads.
NASL (9): Atlanta Silverbacks, Carolina RailHawks, Fort Lauderdale Strikers, Indy Eleven, Jacksonville Armada, Minnesota United, New York Cosmos, San Antonio Scorpions, Tampa Bay Rowdies.

Follow @NicholasMendola